Thirty-five members of the Lehighton National Guard Armory were presented certificates and medals by the Lehighton American Legion Post.

The Legion honored those guard members for participating in various community events, including parades.

Making the presentations was Floyd C. Brown, Legion commander. He was assisted by Fred M. Schaffer, incoming commander; Harry J. Wynn III, past post commander, and Richard J. Fink, adjutant.

Brown said the awards are for "recognition and sincere appreciation of outstanding service and assistance."

The presentations were made Saturday morning on the front lawn of the Lehighton Armory.

Wynn said the presentations were especially for participation in Lehighton's Memorial Day parade. The Lehighton United Veterans Organization sponsors the Memorial Day program.

He told the award recipients, "Thank you for serving your country and for serving the military.

Recipients of the certificates and medals were:

Ian Acciarito, Matthew Atwood, Timothy Barna, Stephen Barrett, Scott Bauder, Sean Blinn, Brandon Brookover, Dewaine Brown, Jeffrey Campbell.

Also, Moinque Chaney, Joshua Curry, Eric Fenner, Anthonly Ferrari, Bradley Ferringer, Christofer Frederick, Phillip Getz, Richard Gubish, Ryan Hann.

Also, Nicole Hughes, Robert Kirby, Robert Lewis, Alexander Mann, John Medrano, Adam Metz, Jamie Nicholas, Shaun ONeal, Robert Rogan.

And, Christina Ruland, Timothy Searfoss, Aubrey Smith, Christopher Strohl, Joseph Templin, Miguel Torres, Clarissa Tortorello, and Jerry Weed.