Dear Editor:

Recently at a Lehighton School Board meeting Mr. Larry Hill made comments to support George Harris. This is not a letter against Mr. Harris but a rebutal to some of the statements Mr. Hill made during his presentation about the past history of Indian Baseball.

He said there has not been a winner in the past 20 years. Mr. Hill before you make a statements please check your facts. In 2000 the Lehighton Indians qualified for the district playoffs competing in the MVC which at that time consisted of old East Penn teams. In fact that team defeated Northhampton which had not been done since 1972 at LAHS.

In 2004 the Indians again qualified for district playoffs beating Saucon Valley 12-3 in the first round, Pen Argyl (CL champs) 5-1, before losing to eventual district champs Salisbury 7-2. The 2000 team of Hausman, Piosa, Laubach, Kunkle , Zellner, Stellar and others played a difficult schedule and they were winners. Also the 2004 team of Venarchick, Versuk, Remaly, Mooney, Breiner, Kistler and the rest of the rooster have two district wins to their credit.

So please Mr.Hill do not diminish the accomplishments of these teams and others who have worn the Indian jersey with pride.


Rick Bennett


Former Head Coach Lehighton Baseball