Friday, December 19, 2014

Local News

Thursday, October 6, 2011

This month's local TV report by Senator David G. Argall focuses on a local employer combining old and new industries.

Founded in 1900, FesslerUSA is a family-owned private label knitwear producer with a focus on custom garments.

Recently, the company embarked on a four year project, which added 1,608 solar panels that supply between 50 - 75 percent of the overall energy needed for the company to operate.

Thursday, October 6, 2011

Dead birds by the hundreds scattered over the Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton Airport told a tragic story of feathered migrators whose journey south was halted. Just what caused the deaths of the birds could only be surmised. Two theories were advanced by ornithologists. One was that birds were migrating in strange territory. The other is that they were caught in turbulant storms which might have pulled them to the ground in a downdraft. Among the birds were woodpeckers, starlings, and warblers.

Thursday, October 6, 2011

The Navy Club of the U.S.A. Ship 260 USS Carbon County will conduct the second annual Birth of Seaborn Services at 7 p.m., on Oct. 13, at St. John's Slovak Lutheran Church, 1 E. Abbott St., Lansford. The Rev. Marjorie Keiter will host the service.

Veterans in the Navy, Marines or Coast Guard, as well as their families and friends are urged to attend. Also invited are the Panther Valley JROTC; Panther Valley Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts; county, state and federal legislators and area residents who wish to celebrate the military.

Thursday, October 6, 2011
CHRIS PARKER/TIMES NEWS Lansford Alive President Mark Sverchek, left, shakes hands with Jim Thorpe National Bank President Craig Zurn. In the middle is Lansford branch bank manager Monica A. Marshall.

When Jim Thorpe National Bank moved it's Panther Valley branch from Coaldale to neighboring Lansford, it did so with its customers' best interests in mind.

The short move from 100 East Phillips St., Coaldale, to its new location at 430 W. Patterson St., Lansford, was a good one, officials said at a recent ribbon-cutting ceremony.

Thursday, October 6, 2011

The Pocono Mountains Art Group, the oldest art organized art group in northeast Pennsylvania (NEPA), has just announced its October 2011 free art gallery schedule for the West End of Monroe County.

The PMA Group Rotational Gallery is open to all members of PMA Group, as well as non- PMA Group members who reside in the West End of Monroe County.

All artwork is in excellent museum quality condition and is presented for viewing in a highly professional manner. No artwork contains any nudity or offensive content.

Thursday, October 6, 2011

A Jim Thorpe man was found not guilty by a Carbon County jury on Wednesday of all criminal counts filed against him, including rape.

Matthew E. Miller, 29, was acquitted of rape, aggravated indecent assault, unlawful restraint and sexual assault. The panel of eight men and four women deliberated for more than three hours before reaching its decision.

The case was a classic "he said, she said".

Thursday, October 6, 2011

The sun has returned and forecasters are talking about 80-degree weather this weekend. Thoughts are probably far from winter. Then along comes this wooly caterpillar, crawling on the ground in a field in Hometown. Oldtimers would say the wool is thick, meaning a long, hard winter looms on the horizon. Hopefully, those oldtimers are wrong.

Thursday, October 6, 2011

Carbon County Fair board monthly meeting will be held at 6:30 p.m. Friday, Oct. 28 at Blue Mountain Health System Community Center, Sixth and Iron streets, Lehighton. Members are reminded that this is a change in date. Any individual or organization interested in becoming a vendor at the 2012 fair is asked to call Bob Silliman at (570) 325-8685. Anyone who would like to become involved with the fair is asked to contact Liz McElwee at The fair will be held on August 7-11, 2012 on Little Gap Road in Palmerton, Pennsylvania.

Thursday, October 6, 2011
AMY MILLER/TIMES NEWS Carbon County Commissioners William O'Gurek, Wayne Nothstein and Charles Getz, standing at right, met with Henry Desrosiers, Carbon County's director of veterans affairs, second from left, and volunteer driver Bill Womack, left, on Wednesday to see the veterans van that the county will use to transport veterans to the VA Medical Center in Wilkes-Barre. The service is free of charge to veterans.

Transportation is now available for Carbon County veterans who need to get to the VA Medical Center in Wilkes-Barre.

Henry Desrosiers, Carbon County's director of veterans affairs, announced that the county has a 12-passenger van to transport veterans from Jim Thorpe to Wilkes-Barre for their appointments. The transportation is free to all veterans.

Currently, the van operates Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday and leaves at 8 a.m. from the Jim Thorpe Memorial Hall rear parking lot, located by the skating rink entrance on 10th Street.

Thursday, October 6, 2011
Special to the TIMES NEWS The Merwinsburgh Hotel is a joint township-historical society restoration project. It is expected it will become a museum for the society.

The Chestnuthill Township Historical Society met Sept. 21 in the park building. The theme of the evening's program was the 50th anniversary of Pleasant Valley School. Books of photographs of students and faculty from the 1961 Bruin yearbook were passed around for everyone to see.

Julie Kresge, a Monroe County Educator of the Year, presented a power point presentation that began with the first graduating class of Pleasant Valley in 1961 and ended with photographs from the anniversary celebration.