Eleven juniors and five seniors joined Panther Valley High School's National Honor Society during the 37th induction ceremony, held at the high school on Wednesday evening.

NHS adviser Rick Morgans began the ceremony with the lighting of the "Eternal Knowledge Candle," the candle that represents the students' accomplishments throughout their lives and their continuing advancement in education.

Richelle Van Horn, NHS president, then welcomed everyone to the induction ceremony.

"The individuals seated before you have upheld the qualities of scholarship, service, leadership and character, which outline (Dr. Edward) Rynearson's innovative expectation for this remarkable group of students," she said.

Van Horn explained that the candles, positioned on the center of the stage around the Eternal Knowledge Candle, represented the virtues of the National Honor Society.

Following Van Horn's introduction, the descriptions of the four virtues of the National Honor Society were read by fellow senior NHS members.

Jake Szczecina, spoke of scholarship; Van Horn read service; Patrick Owens read leadership; and Madison Blasko read character.

Morgans then introduced the new inductees, while Van Horn and Joseph Gunnels, principal at PVHS, presented the awards and pins.

"National Honor Society membership is one of the highest honors a student can attain in her or her high school career," Morgans said before the induction of new members. "It is both an honor and a responsibility. Students selected for membership are expected to continue to demonstrate the qualities of scholarship, leadership, service and character

"Not only are the students seated here before you stellar students, but they are also athletes, actors, artists, orators, singers, musicians, Girl Scouts, Boy Scouts, church volunteers, dancers and poets. They are well-rounded, involved members of this school system and your communities."

The new NHS inductees are:

Ÿ Seniors: Kyle Ferryman, Katie Kabana, Jacob Kusko, Desiree McGarrity and Austin Stuckley.

Ÿ Juniors: Brendan Beshock, Amy Corby, Hunter Davidyock, Emily Drissel, Macey Markovich, Tayler Nalesnik, Adam Nevenglosky, Steven Reehl, Ethan Vermillion, Michael Weng and Abigail Yusella.

Senior members are: Madison Blasko, Leonard Ogozalek, Patrick Owens, Jacob Szczecina and Richelle Van Horn.

Following the induction of new members and the recognition of senior members, Gunnels addressed the audience.

He thanked the parents, teachers and everyone who supported the students and helped them succeed and become well-rounded individuals.

Closing remarks were provided by Van Horn.

"Ayn Rand once said, 'Happiness is that state of consciousness which proceeds from the achievement of one's values,'" she said. "By exhibiting not only academic excellence, but also achievements in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership and character, I feel that each of these students standing before you tonight is striving to become a person of value."

The National Honor Society was founded in 1921 by Dr. Edward Rynearson, a principal at Fifth Avenue High School in Pittsburgh. His goal was to recognize and award academic and social excellence in his students.