The Tamaqua Area High School chapter of the National Honor Society recently inducted 29 new students during ceremonies held in the school district auditorium. Inductees were selected based on academic performance, as well as school and community service attributes. Mrs. Marietta Kotch, chapter advisor, offered welcoming remarks.

NHS officers provided information on the four criteria used for membership: President Spencer Bennett spoke of scholarship; Vice Pselected service; Vice President Hailey Arnold selected service; Secretary Kayla Kerstetter chose leadership; and Treasurer Samantha Guth spoke of character.

High School Prinicipal Stephen Toth provided remarks on one of the pillars of the National Honor Society - leadership. "Leadership can be either natural or innate as well as something that is learned or enhanced by one's experience. Either way, a leader has what many describe as IT. These students, both new and current members, have distinction as leaders. They will become pillars in their community. They will be trendsetters in their workplace. They will fight for what is considered proper. They will do this because they are leaders."

Senior class members inducted into the society include: Jordan Nowacki, Evan Stoll and Michael Streisel. Junior class inductees are Dana Ansbach, Suzanne Arner, Cheyanne Bates, Amber Carroll, Peter Conforti, Katrina Creveling, Danielle Fox, Tyler Groner, Amber Heffelfinger, Kayla Hope, Samantha Koch, Collin Leibensperger, Sarah Lesisko, Jacqueline McMullen, Caitlin Metzger, Joshua Miller, Gabrielle Minehan, Josh Nemeth, Carly O'Malley, Sarah Paluck, Kelsey Patrick, Jordan Reabold, Taylor Urban, Victoria White, Andrea Whitley and Emily Zancofsky.