Lehighton Area High School held its annual Instrumental Department Spring Concert on Thursday at the high school, with Bryan Buffington, as director.

Buffington praised the students for the selections they chose for the concert, saying they chose more challenging and exciting selections to play.

He said 19 students attained 2009 County Band and that Katharine Sabol was the only student to be accepted in the 2009 District Band.

County Band members are Laura Cressley, Stevi Lenahan, Alexandria Tokarzk, Samantha Bowman, Jordan Burgage, Jennifer Lichtenwalner, Cassandra Snyder, Abby-Rae Knappenberger, Rebekah Fritz, Katherine Sabol, Emily Shelly, Anthony Bear, Carol Ahner, Thomas Fritz, Carter McCandless, Shane Nothstein, Stephen Pickerin, Ernest Smale, Joshua Eremus, Shayne Eckman, Matthew Knippel, Jordan Marsh, Adam Reichard, Noah Smith, Zachary Kobal, William Sharbaugh, Benjamin Houser, Darrin Arndt, Kara Fleck, Kassidy Martz, Shauna Brown, Chelsea Frohnheiser, Jennifer Radler, Katie Eidem and Brent Getz.

They played, "Africa: Ceremony, Song and Ritual," "After the Battle" and "Goddess of Fire," before playing "An American Elegy" which memorialized the Columbine tragedy.

Their next presentation was "Into the Joy of Spring," and then Buffington recognized the senior members of the department and introduced Katherine Sabol, who is planning to attend Mansfield College to become a music teacher.

Sabol then was the guest conductor for the next song, "Their Blossoms Down." The final song was "Pilatus: Mountain of Dragons," which concluded the program.

Senior members are: flute, Rachel Inghram, Alexandria Tokarzk and Gabriel Youngkin; clarinet, Gregory Watts; alto saxophone, Katherine Sabol; bassoon, Carol Ahner; trumpet, Thomas Fritz, Shane Nothstein and Ernest Smale; trombone, Shayne Eckman, Matthew Knippel, Jordan Marsh and Noah Smith; and percussion, Darrin Arndt, Kara Fleck, Kassidy Martz, Chelsea Frohnheiser, Brent Getz and Kelsey Rebovich.