The Tamaqua Area High and Middle Schools received accreditation from the Middle States Association of Elemetary and Secondary Schools after undergoing over a year of a rigorous review process to determine the schools' adherence to 12 institutional standards of the association and show evidence of planning for the future. The district's board of education presented plaques to the teachers who spearheaded its Middle States team. Participating in the presentation were, from left, Christopher Czapla, middle school principal; team members Melissa Day, Kristine Schellhammer and Megan Frantz; and Larry A. Wittig, school board president.