The North Valley District, Minsi Trails Council, Boy Scouts of America held their Annual Recognition Dinner at the Aquashicola Fire Company in Aquashicola.

About 100 boys scouts of all ages and their families were in attendance as they enjoyed a full buffet style meal and awards ceremony directly following the serving of the food.

This yearly event is held to honor those who have given outstanding serve to Scouting, to their districts and to others in their communities.

"Thank you to everyone who has helped out in the district this past year in one way or another," said Arby Biesel, district director. "We need to make scouting strong and we need to make it grow. Scouting is the best youth program in the world."

Special awards were given out in four specific areas.

The 2010 Patriot award was given to 45 leaders throughout the district.

A wood badge Beading Ceremony took place in which Rob Broekhuis and Amy Yanoshik each received their wood badge woggle. These are two wooden beads, which are worn around the neck on a leather thong.

To receive this award, the recipient must complete a two-part series, an actual part, and the application period. This may take as long as two years to complete.

Amy Broekhuis, Patricia Gaugler, David Hawk, and Christopher Lubenetski earned the Owl Award.

This award is given to those who not only are outstanding in their dedication to scouting, but to their communities as well.

Randy Marushak, Special Awards Committee Chair, gave special recognition to 12 North Valley Veteran Scouts.

Those called upon to receive this award were Richard Bealer; 28 years; William Hacket Jr and Donald Lafaw each 35 years; G. Alvin Lynn; 36 years; Ralph Roth; 40 years; Lee Schleicher; 45 years; Dr Nevin Cope, Rev George Spieker and Dennis Turick, each 50 years; Elwood Laudenslager, 65 years; and Wilbert Bittner, with 75 years for their involvement in the Boy Scouts of America.

A long and loud standing ovation was given up for all of the veteran scouts.

The final award of the evening was The Award of Merit, which was presented to William Folk, Michael Gaugler, Sr., and Alan Thompson.

Just some of the achievements which qualifies a member to receive this honorable award include being a scoutmaster for at least eighteen months, achieving the Quality Unit Award, having completed a series of training sessions, proper use of the Boy Scout advancement programs, and keeping a positive image of Scouting in their community.

"I am impressed with the dedication of all the scout leader and the people involved with the movement," said Dr. Robert Mauro, district chair. "Seeing young people grow through scouting is such an important part of what you do. I am grateful to be a part of this organization."

This was the first time the District Recognition was held in Aquashicola.

The North Valley District serves nine school districts: Catasauqua Area, Jim Thorpe Area, Lehighton Area, Northampton Area, Northern Lehigh, Northwestern Lehigh, Palmerton Area, Parkland, and Whitehall-Coplay.