Palmerton Area High School's cream of the crop have been ushered into the National Honor Society.

All told, 16 students joined the distinguised list of select company as they were inducted during a ceremony held inside the high school auditorium.

The ceremony began with a welcome by Audry Larvey and Michelle Muffley, NHS co-advisors.

Jessica Fegley, Master of Ceremonies and president of the NHS, followed with the introduction of the student speakers for the evening.

The speakers were Frank "Jay" Hall, who spoke on scholarship; Daniel Haney, NHS Vice President, who spoke about leadership; Madeline Koller, NHS Treasurer, who spoke about character and Robert Keyser, NHS Secretary, who spoke about service.

Sara Smiley and Jesse Reis read the inductee's biographies. Sophomore Karl Pielmeier provided the music throughout the installation service.

Danielle Bissell, Stephanie Gursky, and Ryan Kleintop senior members of NHS, also participated in the induction ceremony.

The new students inducted into the PNHS were Blake Campbell, Jillian Farkas, Courtney Gruber, Elizabeth Hahn, William Heinick, Lyndsey Heinrich, Amber Hettler, Brianna Hoglen, Jarrett Kleintop, Megan Mummey, Kaitlin Reimer, Kristen Romano, Jordan Ruzicka, Levi Serfass, Abigail Storm, and Derek Szena.

Christopher Anthony, a 1985 PAHS graduate, former PNHS member, and current businessman in the community, served as the guest speaker for the ceremony.

His speech focused on the four essential characteristics all NHS members possess. In addition, Anthony emphasized in particular the rewards of giving back to the community.

Superintendent Carol Boyce and high school Principal Kathy Egan also took part in the ceremony.

The evening was completed with a reception in the high school lobby in honor of the new NHS members.

Formed in 1921, the NHS continues each year to recognize outstanding students both in high school and junior high school all across America who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Character.

It is estimated that over one million students participate yearly in the organization.