Skip to main content

Teams announced for Via All-Star Classic

Published February 13. 2019 01:07PM

The teams and matchups have been announced for the 44th annual Via All-Star Basketball Classic.

The event divides teams from the Eastern Pennsylvania Conference, Colonial League and several independent schools based on geography.

Pleasant Valley will be competing on the North squad, while Lehighton, Northern Lehigh, Northwestern and Palmerton will be on the West team. Northern Lehigh mentor Jeff Miller will coach the boys’ West team.

The following area players have been selected:

• Pleasant Valley - Alexa Clark, Madison Rosenberg and Ashley Schwenck.

• Northwestern - Sage Christopher, Sam Yadush and Devin Thomas.

• Palmerton - Baylee Guedes and Nate Dougherty.

• Lehighton - Emily Miller and Addison Howland.

• Northern Lehigh - Jada Saeger, Brandon Hess and Preston Kemery.

In addition, the Lehigh Valley High School Basketball Hall of Fame announced the 2019 indictees to be honored at the Via All-Star banquet on Wednesday, March 27. Marian graduate Diane Decker (Notre Dame High School coach 1996-2001; Freedom High School coach 2002-05) is among the 2019 inductees. Becky Guman, who played at Allentown Central Catholic from 2005-09, and Danny Hinds, who starred for the Vikings from 1997-2001, will also be honored.

The Lehigh Valley Basketball Hall of Fame Combine Clinic will be held Sunday, March 17 at 11 a.m. at Freedom High School. The Via All-Star Banquet is set for Wednesday, March 27 at 6:30 p.m at the Sands Bethlehem Event Center.

Via Super Saturday, featuring the Special Olympics Shoot Out, will take place March 30 at 10:30 a.m. at Northampton Community College. Tickets will be $5 at the door, $3 for students and senior citizens.

The event raises funds for Via of the Lehigh Valley’s programs for adults and children with disabilities.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


May 2019


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed