Skip to main content

A look back: Sept. 17, 1968

Published September 17. 2019 12:38PM

In a surprise move by the Republican-controlled Summit Hill Borough Council, Charles W. Llewellyn, former councilman and an employee of the State Highways Department in Lehighton, last night was named to the borough’s water authority for a five-year term.

He succeeds Cecelia Stermer, whose term expires at the end of the year. The post carries a yearly salary of $300.

Voting for Llewellyn were Thomas Miller, Thomas Nothstein, Nelson Lindermuth, Gordon Henninger and Edward Evans.

Three Democrats opposed the appointment, including Alex Soimmers, who cast his vote for Ambrose O’Donnell; Steve Wargo, who voted for Stermer; and Carmen Ciavaglia, who favored Stanley Kozuch.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2019


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed