Skip to main content

A look back: July 13, 1982

Published July 13. 2019 05:40AM

Dr. C. Elwood Huegel, Jim Thorpe Area School superintendent, has been re-elected to that position for a five-year term commencing July 1, 1983, and continuing until June 30, 1988.

Approval of the new contract came on a 5-4 vote of the district’s board of education last night. Favoring the extension were George Hiller, John Gunsser, Elizabeth Rehrig, Robert Gerber and Louis Mueller. Opposed were Francis Schweibinz, John Mulligan, Edward McHugh and Glenn Confer.

In his opposing view, Confer argued about the length of the pact, saying, “I never heard of a five-year contract anywhere, unless you’re a Reggie Jackson or Babe Ruth.”

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


January 2020


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed