Skip to main content

Lehighton presents academic awards to seniors

  • Empty

    Dr. Roland Wotring Scholarship recipients are, from left, Evan Beers, Samantha Banning, Jordyn Zwetolitz and Logan Pagotto. Each will receive $2,500 a year for four years. MIKE FEIFEL/SPECIAL TO THE TIMES NEWS

  • Empty

    The C. Arthur & Elizabeth Walters Hammers Scholarship recipients are, from left, Mason Barndt, Olivia Frendt, Sydney Vincent and Victor McCandless. Each will receive $4,000 a year for four years.

Published May 22. 2019 12:11PM

Lehighton Area High School recently held its academic awards assembly.

The following students received awards:

The Major General and Mrs. Bert A. David Award: Isabella Baka, $4,000

Jean Everett Memorial Nursing Scholarship: Lucy Taylor, $1,000

Weissport School Reunion Scholarship: Brenna Long, $500

Butch Rodgers Softball Scholarship: Haley Hawk, $1,000

U.S. Service Academy Acceptances: Addison Howland, Air Force Academy; Chris Whiteman, U.S. Naval Academy

Dylan C. Krum Memorial Scholarship: Victor McCandless, $1,000

Gavin L. Krum Memorial Scholarship: Madison DeLuca, $1,000

Elwood Miller AMVETS Post 106 Scholarship: Brooke Focht, $250

Beverly Dolgopol Cheerleading Award: Natalie Smith, $500

Carbon County Bar Association Scholarships: Rhianna Funk and Hunter Highland, $500 each

Gregory “Segal” Ebbert Scholarship: Evan Beers, Lillian Brown, Elizabeth Gulich, Alexandra Hydro and Ally McGinley, $1,500 each

Bo Tkach Under The Helmet & Hat Scholarship: Sydney Vincent, $1,500

Leon Kunkle Memorial Scholarship: Mason Barndt, $500

Annual Andy Knappenberger Scholarship: Cara Palumbo and Lucas Hoffner, $1,000 each

Blauch Scholarship: Elizabeth Gulich, Emily Gulich, Shain Hrusovsky, Jennifer Wensel and Najee Williams, $10,000 each

Dwight D. Eisenhower Award for Outstanding Leader of Character: Rebecca Serfass, plaque and invitation to awards recognition day at West Point

Arby’s Senior Service Award: Isabelle Meckes, $100

Taco Bell Senior Service Award: Alexander Potts, $100

Presidential Volunteer Service Award: Jordan Cook

Good Citizenship Award: Sydney Vincent and Addison Howland, certificate

Lehighton Area Elementary Center Faculty and Staff Scholarships: Madison DeLuca, Alex Hawk, Lucas Hoffner, Logan Pagotto, Natalie Smith, Rhylee Sherwood, Shane Williams and Cameron Zerbe, $200 each

Lehighton Area Elementary PTO Scholarship: Brenna Long and Evan Beers, $200 each

Matthew D. Depue Indian Pride Band Scholarship: Joshua Pickerin, $750

Hunter Meckes Scholarship: Isabelle Meckes and Jordan Cook, $500 each

L.E.A.F. (Lehighton Education & Athletic Foundation) Scholarships: Isabelle Meckes, Mackenzie Sabatino, Jordan Cook and Dakota Hiester, $1,250 each

Dowd Foundation Scholarships: Miranda Pettit and Isaac Acuna, $1,250 each for two years

Class of 1957 Scholarships: Kelsey Knappenberger and Jordan Cook, $2,500 each

Mahoning Valley Ambulance Association Scholarship Awards: Haley Hawk and Logan Pagotto, $1,000 each

The Times News Outstanding Journalism Student Award: Rhianna Funk, $250

Lehighton Area Lioness/Lions Club Award: Madison DeLuca and Raffy Acosta, $250 each

Class of 1964 Spirit Scholarship: Miranda Petti, $1,000

Lehighton Ford Scholarship: Julie Hiester and Ryan Nametko, $375 each

Benjamin Wolfe Memorial Scholarship: Joshua Pickerin, $1,000

Lehighton Touchdown Club Football Scholarships: Dakota Hiester and Shawn Truhe, $500 each

Ann & Thomas Conarty Sr. Memorial Scholarship: Heidi Greene, $100

Loretta Q. Bimler Memorial Award: Sydney Vincent, $762

St. Luke’s Gnaden Huetten and Palmerton Hospital Academic Scholarship: Emily Miller, $1,000

St. Luke’s Gnaden Huetten Memorial Hospital Auxiliary Award: Samantha Banning, $500

Fisher Insurance Award: Madison DeLuca, $1,500

Lehighton Area Educational Support Personnel Academic and Trade/Technical Scholarship: Academic, Alex Hawk; Trade/Technical, Zachary Andrews, $300 each

Student Council Memorial Award: Samantha Banning, $300

Kreiger Award: Jennifer Wensel, $250

Mamie T. Lynaugh Scholarship: Isabella Baka, $950

FCCLA Award: Ashley Fritz, $300

Gachtin Bambil Award: Rhianna Funk, $150

Class of 1928 Leni Award: Cara Palumbo, $100

Lehighton High School Faculty Award: Sydney Vincent, $762

L.A.E.A. Scholarship In Memory Of Daniel I. Farren: Jordan Cook, Joshua Gandy and Alex Schwab, $500 each

Poe Business Award: Brenna Long and Haley Nahf, $500 each

Emma S. Krout Award: Isabella Baka, $400

T.J. McCall Memorial Fund Award: Evan Beers, $500

Valley Forge Chapter-Pa Sons of The American Revolution: Addison Howland, medal

Diaz Family Award: Samantha Banning and Sam Maholick, $250 each

Susan A. Hill Memorial Scholarship: Savannah Smith, $150

Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award: Kaia Slaw, certificate

Paul and Linn Smith Music Award: Joshua Pickerin, $500

Eugene W. Flicker Scholarship: Isaac Acuna, $250

Robert L. Balliet Music Scholarship: Madison DeLuca, $1,000

Harry & Doris Hutchison Memorial Scholarship: Shain Hrusovsky, $2,000

Franklin Township Lions Club Scholarships: Lucy Taylor and Evan Beers, $1,000 each

Justin A. Berger Memorial Award: Zachary Andrews, $200

Earle R. Koons Scholarships: Isabella Baka and Emily Kleintop, $1,000 each; and Brooke Focht, Hunter Highland and Emily, $500 each

William H. & Sadie S. Long Scholarship: Najee Williams, $1,740

Bowmanstown-Parryville Lions Club Award: Jordyn Zwetolitz, $500

Fraternal Order Of Police Scholarship: Gavin Sherer, $100

Mallard Market Scholarship: Alexandra Hydro, $500

Class of 2002 Scholarship: Samantha Banning, $102

The Cristi and Vivian Marchetti Scholarship: Najee Williams, $1,000

The Hill Family Scholarship: Madison DeLuca, $1,500 a year for two years

Lehighton Area Middle School PTO Awards: Madison DeLuca, $200

Mahoning Township Lions Club Awards: Samantha Banning and Victor McCandless, $300 each

Lehigh Carbon Community College Foundation Scholarship: Amanda Mathisen, $300

Class of 1943 Scholarship: Heidi Greene, $100

Marion V. Decker Award: Samantha Banning and Shane Williams, $500 each

Fraternal Order Orioles Nest 183 Lehighton Scholarships: Shain Hrusovsky, Ally McGinley and Ryan Nametko, $500 each

Statewide Tax Recovery Scholarship: Alex Slaw, $200

Pepsi Award: Cara Palumbo, $500

C. Arthur & Elizabeth Walters Hammers Scholarship: Oliva Frendt, Sydney Vincent, Mason Barndt and Victor McCandless, $4,000 a year for four years

Dr. Roland Wotring Scholarship: Samantha Banning, Jordyn Zwetolitz, Evan Beers and Logan Pagotto, $2,500 a year for four years

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


September 2019


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed