Skip to main content

Carbon Dem chairman elected to lead northeast

  • Empty

    Newly elected members of the Pennsylvania Democratic Party’s Northeast Pennsylvania Caucus include Thomas Shubilla, Luzerne County, treasurer; Leslie Altieri, Northampton County, secretary; Colleen Eagen Gerrity, Lackawanna County, vice chairwoman; and Billy O’Gurek Jr., Carbon County, caucus chairman. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Published June 29. 2018 10:59PM

Elected members of the Pennsylvania Democratic Party’s state committee met recently in Harrisburg for their summer meeting to elect the party’s leadership for the new term.

The meeting was held June 15 and June 16 at the Sheraton Harrisburg Hershey Hotel.

Carbon County Democratic Committee Chairman Billy O’Gurek Jr. was re-elected to serve another four years as the party’s Northeast Pennsylvania Caucus chairman.

O’Gurek, a Summit Hill Borough council member, has served as Northeast PA caucus chairman since 2014. His newest term runs until June 2022.

Other caucus leadership elected includes: Colleen Eagen Gerrity (Lackawanna County), vice chairwoman; Thomas Shubilla (Luzerne County), treasurer; Leslie Altieri (Northampton County), secretary; and Paul Maher (Luzerne County), treasurer emeritus.

As caucus chairman, O’Gurek is one of eight chairpersons in the state who will serve as a liaison to the state party leadership and will advise newly elected state Chairwoman Nancy Patton Mills (Allegheny County) on matters regarding northeast Pennsylvania and Democratic Party politics at large.

The Northeast PA Caucus represents 11 counties: Luzerne, Lackawanna, Carbon, Schuylkill, Monroe, Northampton, Wayne, Wyoming, Pike, Susquehanna and Bradford.

O’Gurek has also served as the chairman of the Carbon County Democratic Committee since 2010.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


January 2020


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed