Skip to main content

American Cancer Society hosts ‘Cancer Fighters’ dinner

Published March 15. 2019 12:13PM

The American Cancer Society telethon committee is hosting the “Cancer Fighters” Tribute Dinner 2019 at 6 p.m. March 31 at Capriotti’s Banquet Hall, 1 Banks Ave, McAdoo.

The telethon is marking its 40th year and is honoring distinguished volunteers, fundraisers or survivors whose public efforts have strengthened the American Cancer Society or inspired others to join in the fight against cancer.

Honorees are:

• Luther’s Angels Relay for Life Team will receive the “Fundraiser Spotlight Award.” The Tamaqua Relay for Life has been going on for 26 years. For most of those 26 years Luther’s Angels has consistently been a team demonstrating the highest spirit, energy and creativity in fundraising.

• Lynn Diehl of the Franklin Township Fire Company will accept the “Cancer Fighter Award.” Diehl and the fire company are there to help with whatever is needed for the telethon. They show up every Saturday morning to help unload the truck and start with set up. Then they are back later in the day for answering the phone. Diehl himself is a cancer survivor.

• Marian High School National Honor Society will receive the “James J. Rhoades Award for Outstanding School Participation.” Rita Neitz and her students of the National Honor Society have spearheaded the daffodil campaign at Marian High School over the past few years. Their efforts have helped the daffodil campaign grow.

• St. John’s Lutheran Church Bell Choir will receive the “Patricia A. Haughton Award for Exceptional Service.” This group has performed on the telethon for 39 years, starting with the first program show in 1980. Every Telethon Sunday we start the day listening to the beautiful stirring sounds of the bell choir.

• Kaylee Gilbert will receive the “‘Generation Next’ Leadership Award.” Kaylee has grown up volunteering, having been mentored by the “Zoo Crew” and becoming a familiar name and face at Zoostock. In recent years she led special fundraising projects during the telethon and donates her hair for “Locks of Love.”

• BTM Incorporated will receive the “Business Spotlight Award.” Nancy Beers has kept BTM the top sponsor of local Daffodil Days for as long as anyone can remember. We appreciate her leadership.

• Tamaqua Area School District will receive special recognition in this milestone anniversary year for launching and continuing support of the ACS telethon. Back in 1980 the high school media club was the catalyst for a unique coalition of students, faculty, staff, administration and parents. That partnership created a decadeslong tradition and has raised millions. Today Tamaqua Area School District hosts the relay, actively supports the daffodil sale and telethon, and is the new home of the annual auction/raffle event.

Robert E. Ames (1949-2018) will be recognized posthumously in a way that carries forth his name and his legacy of community service including fervent support of American Cancer Society efforts over many years.

A cash bar will be available from 5 to 6 p.m., with dinner at 6 p.m. and the program at 7 p.m.

To reserve tickets, call Kathy Dombrosky-Peters at 570-573-2807 by Saturday.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


July 2019


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed