Skip to main content

Gould retains leadership in Chestnuthill in 2014

Published January 08. 2014 05:00PM

Chuck Gould will remain chairman of the Chestnuthill Township supervisors and Chris Eckert is vice chairman, with new supervisor Harry Miller rounding out the board.

Other township positions also remain the same with David Albright as township manager, Cathy Martinelli, secretary/treasurer/office manager/open records officer and Merton Whitney as roadmaster.

The board named the following to one-year terms:

H.M. Beers Inc., sewage enforcement officer; Todd Weitzmann of Weitzmann & Weitzmann, attorney for SEO; Jeryl Reinhart, alternate sewage enforcement officer; Mark Mills of Soils Resource Limited, soil scientist; Andrea Kennedy, SEO secretary; Chris McDermott, Reilly Associates, engineer; and Eric Snyder, Keystone Engineering, alternate township engineer;

Also, Joseph P. McDonald Jr., township solicitor; vacancy board, Board of Supervisors and Kim Lutz; Adam Thieling, building/grounds maintenance/litter control; John Mathews, administrative assistant; Walter Hansen, zoning and codes officer; Lehigh Valley Inspection Service, Building Code Inspector; H. Clark Connor, attorney for the Zoning Officer; Jerry Hanna, zoning hearing board attorney; Matthew Neeb, zoning hearing board attorney; Tim McManus of Cramer, Swetz & McManus, solicitor to the Planning Commission; Matthew Neeb, secretary to planning commission.

The township's emergency management coordinator is Eric Hoffman. Don Zipp resigned due to work commitments.

The Chestnuthill Township Historical Society liaison is Chris Eckert.

The Agriculture Area Advisory Committee is Chuck Gould, Harry Miller, Mark Heckman, William Altemose and Robert G. Gould.

Robert Reeder, Matthew Connell and Kim Lutz as alternate, will serve on the zoning hearing board (five-year terms).

Nancy Beck was named to the Planning Commission for a four-year term.

Chris Thompsett (three-year term) and Harry Miller will serve on the West End Park & Open Space Commission.

Chuck Gould, Nick Caprioli and Chris Eckert (alternate) will serve on the CJER Regional Planning Commission in one year terms.

Karen Hayes will serve a one-year term on the CJER Regional Joint Building Code Board of appeals.

James Fierari is the CJER Regional Joint Building Code Board of Appeals Solicitor.

Non-union employees received an hourly wage increase: Walter Hansen ($.31); Adam Thieling ($2); John Mathews ($2.51).

Union employees will receive mileage reimbursement as per union contract and non-union employees will receive 2014 IRS rate of $. 56 per mile.

The Chestnuthill Township board of supervisors' meetings will be held at 7 p.m. on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at the township municipal building, located on Route 715, Brodheadsville.

Plans to be reviewed at the first meeting of each month. Work sessions will be 7:30 a.m. Mondays.

Eckert said he has a lot of optimism for the upcoming year. Newest supervisor Miller said that so far it has been a very positive and educational experience.

Gould said that 2013 had been a rough year after losing the late supervisor, David Fleetwood, in the tragic shooting at Ross Township but said that Miller picked up the ball running.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed


Bombers get creative with parade floats

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Some of Palmerton’...

Man faces charges for shooting his dog

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Charges have been...

Extension hosts annual dinner

40.7986942, -75.8104747

The Carbon County Ex...

Reader Photo Galleries