Skip to main content

Three row officeholders sworn in during annual ceremony

Published January 02. 2014 06:59PM

Three Carbon County row officeholders, all who were reelected last November, were sworn in on Thursday morning during the county court's annual swearing in ceremony held in courtroom one on the second floor of the courthouse in Jim Thorpe.

Judy Moon, register of wills, clerk of the orphans court, took the oath for her fifth full term; William C. McGinley, clerk of courts, began his seventh term; and Ronald Sheehan, treasurer, began his fourth term in office.

The three county judges, President Judge Roger N. Nanovic, and judges Steven R. Serfass and Joseph J. Matika, sworn in the three officeholders as well as several community election winners and the various personnel of the court system.

Also eing sworn in from area communities were mayors Samuel J. Kitchko of Nesquehoning, and Paul McArdle of Summit Hill, Councilwomen Helen Torok, of Lehighton, and Mary Rayno of Beaver Meadows.

Tax collectors were Pauline F. Homm, Mahoning Township; Sara Keiser, Franklin Township; and Mary Strohl, Lehighton.

The office personnel from adult probation, court IT staff; magisterial district courts; domestic relations; juvenile court; and court administration also were sworn in.

Special recognition

Aileen Cassidy was given special recognition. She is retiring from the court administration staff after over 40 years of service as a county employee.

She was presented a special plaque by Nanovic in recognition to her many years of service. She will officially retire at the end of March.

The three judges thanked the court staffs and all county employees for their dedication to their positions and to the county.

Nanovic also made special reference to the various elected officials who were sworn in thanking them for taking an interest in their community and their volunteerism. His comments were supported by Serfass and Mitika.

Robert L. Brewster, court administrator, was master of ceremonies for the program, which she and her staff put together.

Also present from the court system was the four county district judges - Edward Lewis, Casmir Kosciolek, William Kissner, and Joseph Homanko.

The court was called to order by tipstaff Susan Bernhard, and the adjournment by tipstaff Sandra Flanigan.

The program was attended by about 200 people.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries