Skip to main content

No surprises in school races

Published November 06. 2013 07:46AM

There were contests for school director seats in Blue Mountain and Hazleton Area School Districts in the Municipal General Election held Tuesday in Schuylkill County.

Here are the results of school board races in the TIMES NEWS coverage area.

Tamaqua Area

There were no contests as the four candidates won both the nominations of the Republican and Democratic parties in the primary election and were unopposed in the general election. Elected to a four year term were:

Incumbents Thomas A. Rottet, 2,198 votes; Aaron R. Frantz, 2,036 votes; Bryan W. Miller, 2016 votes and Mark Rother, 2071 votes.

Blue Mountain

There was a contest with five candidates running for four positions.

The four winners were, Timothy G. Grube, 2,829 votes; Herman Robert Fligge, 2,652 votes; Dean Gherghel, 2,555 votes; and Anne Usaka, 2,593. The loser was Mary Jo Moss, 1,771 votes.

Hazleton Area

There was a contest with five candidates after four seats. The county vote was as follows:

Bob Mehalick, 1,243 votes; Jared M. O'Donnell, 1,045; James G. Chapman, 1,244; Clarence John, 1,164 and Carmella Yenkevich, 964.

Voters in Kline Township and McAdoo cast ballots for the Hazleton Area School District.

Panther Valley

There were no contests with only four candidates on the ballot for four seats on the board. Coaldale Borough is the only county municipality which is a part of the district. The vote was as follows:

Brian J. Dolena, 340 votes; John Williams, 302 votes; Irene A. Genther, 348 votes; and Dnaiel J. Heaney 252 votes.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries