Skip to main content

$170,000 in scholarships awarded to LAHS seniors

  • Gail Maholick/TIMES NEWS Among the seniors at Lehighton Area High School who were recipients of awards are, from left, Elyse Kistler, Sarah Kistler, Tyler Martz and Alden Everett; and back row, Tia Rex, Hannah Bartron, Cierra Kobal and Brittany Redmond.
    Gail Maholick/TIMES NEWS Among the seniors at Lehighton Area High School who were recipients of awards are, from left, Elyse Kistler, Sarah Kistler, Tyler Martz and Alden Everett; and back row, Tia Rex, Hannah Bartron, Cierra Kobal and Brittany Redmond.
Published May 31. 2013 05:03PM

Lehighton Area High School Class of 2013 shared in scholarships and awards totaling over $170,000 during award the All School Academic Awards Assembly.

Among the top monetary awards presented was the C. Arthur and Elizabeth Walters Hammers Scholarships an award presented to four seniors who are planning to further their education, are well rounded students in the top one fifth of their class and demonstrate good citizenship and are members of two or more specified activities. Recipients are Elyse Kistler, Sarah Kistler, Tyler Martz and Alden Everett. They were each awarded $4,000 a year for four years.

Tia Rex and Hannah Bartron, recipients of the Dr. Roland and Wotring Scholarship were awarded $2,500 a year for four years.

Alex Rubin was awarded the Hill Family Scholarship, $2,500 a year for two years.

Jacen Nalesnik was awarded the Major General and Mrs. Bert A. David award of $4,000.

Morgan Ott and Sage Terembula were awarded the Dowd Foundation Scholarship, an award of $1,250 for two years.

Kaitlin Smith and Jacob Strohl were awarded the Class of 1957 scholarship, an award of $2,500.

Brandon Everett was awarded the Harry and Doris Hutchinson Memorial Scholarship, an award of $1,500.

Recipients of the $1,300 Earle R. Koons scholarships were Kaitlyn Bandholz, Rowan Laitila, Avery Frohnheiser, Kaitlin Piekarski, Elizabeth Reichard, Kristina Schnell and Jurnee Strawser.

Ciera Koba, Brittany Redmond, Tia Rex and Jacen Nalesnik, were recipients of the Gregory "Segal" Ebbert Scholarship.

The following students were awarded $1,000 scholarships. Marian Christman Scholarships, Emily Lauer, Meghan Mausteller, Jacen Nalesnik and Matthew Schweitzer; Craig L. Barry Memorial Fund, Jacen Nalesnik; Annual Andy Knappenberger Scholarship, Alden Everett; Mallard Market Scholarship, Brittany Redmond; Keith J. Henritzy Memorial award, Ciera Kobal; Franklin Township Lions Scholarships, Meghan Mausteller and Alex Rubin; Brett Flexer scholarship, Montreo Thompson; Dylan C. Krum Memorial Scholarship, Matthew Schweitzer; Lehighton Area Education Association in memory of Daniel I. Farren, Brandon Everett; and Lehigh Fire Co. No. 1 scholarship, Geoff Ebbert and Meghan Mausteller.

Keturah Hinkle was the recipient of the $900 William H. and Sadie Long Scholarship.

Recipients of $500 awards were: Elizabeth Reichard and Christian Verrastro, Diaz Family Award; Emily Lauer, T.J. McCall Memorial Fund award; Holly Niehoff and Paige Freeman, St. Luke's Miner's Memorial Hospital Academic scholarship; Jacen Nalesnik, Leon Kunkle Memorial Scholarship; Kaitlin Smith, Gnaden Huetten Memorial Hospital Auxiliary award; Kristina Schnell and Geoff Ebbert, Hunter Meckes Scholarship; Elyse Kistler, Paul and Linn Smith Music award; Gabrielle Keremar, Beverly Dolgopol Cheerleading award; Keturah Hinkle, Lehighton Area Education Association; Keturah Hinkle and Brandon Everett, Lehighton High School Faculty award; Emily Lauer, Mamie T. Lynaugh Scholarship; and Eugene Vargson, Poe Business award.

Recipients of $400 awards were, Haley Colman, Loretta Q. Bimler Memorial award.

Recipients of $300 awards were, Elyse Kistler, Bowmanstown-Parryville Lions Club award; and Chelsea German and Tyler Martz, LAESP Vocational and Business Scholarship.

Recipients of $250 awards are, Emily Shelly, Eugene W. Flicker Scholarship; Alex Rubin, Tamaqua BPOE Elks award; Rose Hickman and Donovan Green, Mahoning Township Lions Club award; Kristina Schnell and Morgan Ott, Carbon County Bar Association scholarships; Kristina Schnell, Elwood Miller AMVETS Post 106 Scholarship; Holly Niehoff, Tia Rex and Dallas Seltzer, Beatrice Beltzner Memorial award; Samantha Snyder, Lori Markley-Rudelitch Softball scholarship; Holly Niehoff and Alex Rubin, Lehighton Area Lioness/Lions Club award; Sage Terembula, Lori Markley-Rudelitch Field Hockey scholarship; and Kaley Miller, Student Council Memorial award.

Recipients of the $200 awards are, Jewel Kravitz and Sebastian Mystkowski, Lehighton Area Middle School PTO awards; Chelsea German and Brandon Everett, Mahoning Elementary P.T.O. awards; Brandon Everett, East Penn Elementary Faculty and Staff Scholarship; and Mason Everett, Lehighton Electronics award.

Recipients of $150 awards are, Kaitlyn Bandholz, Susan A. Hill Memorial scholarship; and Meghan Mausteller, Gachtin Bambil award.

Recipients of $100 awards are: Elyse Kistler, Lehighton Burger King award; Rowan Laitila, Senior Art Career Bound award, Lehighton Woman's Club, Geoff Ebbert, Fraternal Order of Police scholarship; Kaley Miller, Shull-David PTO scholarship; Hannah Bartron, Abby's Senior Service award; Elizabeth Reichard, Class of 2002 scholarship; Dallas Seltzer and Noah Schoch, Franklin Elementary PTO scholarship; Elyse Kistler, Class of 1928 Leni award; Logan Hine, Class of 1943 scholarship; Ciera Kobal and Mason Everett, Lehighton Woman's Club award; Emily Oldt, East Penn PTO scholarship; Jurnee Strawser, TIMES NEWS Outstanding Journalism Student award; Samantha Snyder, Ann and Thomas Conarty Sr. Memorial scholarship; and Holly Niehoff, FCCLA award.

Recipients of $75 awards are: Tyler Martz, Emma S. Krout award.

Recipients of $50 awards are: Meghan Mausteller, Girl Scout award; and Lacey Haldeman and Timothy Greenfield, Fabulous Fifties scholarships.

Schuyler Cordova was presented the Dwight D. Eisenhower award for Outstanding Leader of Character. Cordova was also invited to Recognition Day at U.S. Military Academy. Presented the Good Citizenship awards were, Geoff Ebbert and Sage Terembula, Sen. Argall award; and Alex Rubin and Elyse Kistler, Sen. Yudichak award. Tia Rex and Jacen Nalesnik were awarded a medal and certificate, Army Reserve National Scholar Athlete awards; Vincent Mele, Bausch and Lomb Honorary Science award; and Meghan Mausteller, medal, Valley Forge Chapter, Pa. Sons of the American Revolution.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


November 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries