Skip to main content

Homm unseats Swarcheck for tax collector

Published May 22. 2013 05:04PM

Mahoning Township will have a new tax collector in 2014 as a result of Tuesday's Primary Election balloting. Meanwhile, one incumbent Lehighton Area School Board member was defeated and another won one race and lost another, setting up what appears to be a head-to-head race in November.

Meanwhile, in East Penn and Franklin townships and Parryville and Weissport boroughs, there were no races.

Mahoning Township

Democratic incumbent tax collector Richard Swarcheck of Mahoning Township lost a three-person race as he pursued another four-year term.

The winner of that race was Pauline Homm, who received 129 votes. Swarcheck followed with 85 while finishing in third place was Kerry Verrastro with 52 votes.

Homm will face Republican Todd A. Koller in November for the position. A Republican, Koller defeated Wanda Crostley-Cunfer by an 87-68 margin to win that nomination.

There are two six-year terms on the township's board of supervisors to be filled by the voters this year. Only one name appeared on the ballots, that being Democrat James W. Holland, who received 197 token votes to win one of the nominations.

The other nominations are pending a review of write-in votes by the county's board of elections. Forty-three Democrats and 55 Republicans voted via the write-in method. To win a nomination, a person must receive 10 write-in votes and finish in the top two in total votes.

School board

Veteran school director David Krause, who presided over the board for six years, went down in defeat on both ballots yesterday in a race that had as many as 10 candidates for four four-year terms that are up for grabs. Another incumbent, William J. Hill Jr., was knocked out of the Democratic balloting.

In the Democratic balloting, winning nominations were Gloria J. Bowman, Lori S. Nothstein, Stephen L. Holland and incumbent Hal P. Resh. Bowman was tops with 440 votes, followed by Nothstein with 375, Holland, 358, and Resh, 330.

Losing out on that side were Hill, 304, David Hauser, 264, Krause, 215, Catherine Plocinik, 163, and David Bradley, 104.

Bowman was also first in the Republican balloting, collecting 345 votes. Also winning a GOP nomination were Hill, 333, Holland, 315, and Resh, 301.

Losing out on the Republican side were Nothstein, 289, Hauser, 258, Krause, 173, Plocinik, 120, Kristen Marks, 118, and Bradley, 89.

When they run in November, Bowman, Holland and Resh will appear on both ballots while Nothstein will run as a Democrat against Hill, who will be on the Republican side.


The interesting thing on the ballots in the Borough of Lehighton on Tuesday was the fact that no one filed a petition to get their name on the ballot to run for the position of mayor. Incumbent Democrat Donald Rehrig did not seek re-election to another four-year term.

While there were no candidates listed on the ballots, voters gave prospective candidates their attention via the write-in method. There were 82 Democratic write-in votes and 49 Republican write-in votes. The persons who gets at least 10 votes from either party and who is the highest vote-recipient will win a nomination to their respective party. Those totals will not be decided until they are reviewed by the county's board of elections.

In the borough council balloting, there were no contests in the Primary. Three incumbents are running for four-year terms and were without opposition.

On the Democratic side, incumbent Scott T. Rehrig received 142 votes while Joseph Flickinger followed with 142. And on the Republican side, incumbents John Wayne Bird and George Kogut were unopposed and received 96 and 94 votes, respectively. On each party, the write-in votes could decide who received the third nomination.

Tax Collector Mary Strohl, a Republican, was unopposed on both ballots yesterday. She received 136 complimentary votes from her party members.

East Penn Township

The East Penn ballot called for one supervisor, a tax collector and two auditors to be elected.

In the supervisors' race, there was only one candidate. Democrat Deanna Cunfer received 115 token votes to win one nomination. On the Republican side, there were 46 write-in votes that are likely to determine whether or not there is a candidate on that side in the fall.

Tax Collector Thomas Beck, a Democrat, ran unopposed for re-election to another four-year term. He collected 121 token votes.

There were no candidates for two auditors' positions in the township.

Franklin Township

Two persons seeking a six-year term on the Franklin Township board of supervisors were unopposed on Tuesday and will face each other in November to decide the seat.

Democrat Byron K. Long, who was appointed to a position on the board after the death of Larry Smith, was unchallenged for that nomination and received 92 votes. He will be challenged in the General Election by Republican Robin D. Cressley, who was unopposed on the GOP ballot and amassed 162 token votes.

Tax Collector Sara J. Keiser, a Democrat, ran unopposed yesterday in pursuit of another four-year term in that office. She received 126 complimentary votes from party members. There were 18 Republican write-in votes for that nomination.


Voters in Parryville had no choices to make yesterday, as there was a shortage of candidates in the borough.

Three persons who ran unopposed collected token votes. They included Mayor Dean Emery, a Republican who received 16 complimentary votes as he aspires to be re-elected to a four-year term in that office, and two Republican councilpersons. They include Cathy Hawk and Jennifer Emery, who collected 16 and 11 votes, respectively.

No one ran for the four-year term as tax collector that the incumbent, Penny Szoke, is relinquishing.


There were no contested races facing Weissport Borough voters in the Primary Election. Four incumbents are seeking re-election to their respective terms all collected token votes.

They include Mayor Jonathan Glenn Troutman, a Democrat running for another four-year term who received 16 votes; and incumbent council members, Democrat Paulette Watson and Republican Gene Kershner. Watson received 16 complimentary votes from the Democrats and Kershner collected six token votes from GOP voters.

Tax Collector Theresa Troutman, a Democrat, is running unopposed for re-election to a four-year term. She received 16 complimentary votes from her party members.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries