Skip to main content

3 Carbon County offices at stake

  • 3 Carbon County offices at stake
    Copyright 2013
Published May 20. 2013 05:04PM

Carbon County voters will have the opportunity to exercise their right to vote on Tuesday, May 21, when the 2013 Primary Election takes place. Voting will take place from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. in each of the county's 51 election precincts.

With this year being a municipal election, there are races from county offices to boroughs, townships and schools. The TIMES NEWS preview coverage of the various offices up for grabs appeared in last week's editions.

There are three county offices at stake this year, with incumbent officeholders in each of those races once again seeking re-election. They include the Register of Wills and Clerk of the Orphans' Court, Judy F. Moon of Nesquehoning, Treasurer Ronald J. Sheehan of Jim Thorpe; and Clerk of Courts William C. McGinley of Mahoning Township.

Each of them is a Democrat and face no opposition from within their party. In fact, Sheehan and McGinley have no General Election opposition since no Republican has filed to have his or her name placed on the ballot for those positions.

Moon will have a challenger in November. Republican Jean Ann Papay of Lower Towamensing Township is running unopposed for her party's nomination and the two candidates will square off in the November General Election.

The salaries of the treasurer and clerk of courts for the term of 2014-2017 will be as follows: 2014, $57,764; 2015, $57,764; 2016, $58,342; and 2017, $59,509.

The register of wills, because it is a joint office that also includes responsibilities as clerk of the orphans' court, will be paid as follows in the next term: 2014, $58,917, plus $2,000; 2015, $58,917, plus $2,000; 2016, $59,526, plus $2,000; and 2017, $60,757, plus $2,000.

In the past, the two offices of jury commissioners in the county had been decided by the electorate in this election cycle. But because the Carbon County Board of Commissioners voted previously to abolish those offices, there will be no election for those positions.

The validity of the abolishment, however, remains held in abeyance because of a challenge in state court to the law adopted by the legislature that allowed for the abolishment of the offices.

The current jury commissioners in Carbon County are Democrat Joanne M. Maurer and Republican Joe Steber. Both reside in Nesquehoning.

Meanwhile, state court positions also appear on the county ballot. County voters will be a part of the statewide balloting for a contested seat on the Superior Court, while two Supreme Court justices and two other Superior Court judges are seeking return to their respective bench seats for 10-year terms.

Supreme Court justices, Ron Castille, the Chief Justice, a Republican and former Philadelphia District Attorney who won his seat in 1993, and Max Baer, a Democrat and former Allegheny County Common Pleas judge who won a seat in 2003, are seeking retention to the top court in the state. Their retention referendum will appear on the ballots statewide in November.

For the Superior Court, there is a race for the Democratic nomination in the Primary Election, while a lone GOP candidate awaits the winner in a fall showdown. Judge John Musmanno is 70 and retiring at the end of his term. Aspiring to win that seat on the appellate court are Democrats Joseph C. Walters Jr. of Philadelphia and Jack McVay Jr. of Pittsburg, Allegheny County, The winner of that race will face Republican Vic Stabile of Middlesex Township, Cumberland County.

Two other judges, Jack Panella of Northampton County and Susan Peikes Gantman of Montgomery County, who were first elected to the bench in November, 2003, for 10-year terms, are seeking retention to the Superior Court. Their retention votes will not appear on the ballots until November.

There are no vacancies and no retention contests on the Commonwealth Court.

A total of 18,696 Democrats and 14,522 Republicans are eligible to participate in the voting process tomorrow, those numbers being certified by the county's Board of Elections following the close of the registration period on April 22.

After the polls close at 8 o'clock tomorrow night, the official results will be tallied at the county's Bureau of Elections on Susquehanna Street in Jim Thorpe.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


November 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries