Skip to main content

Only two contested races in PV towns

  • Only two contested races in PV towns
    Copyright 2013
Published May 17. 2013 05:03PM

Primary Election voters in the Panther Valley region on Tuesday, May 21, will have only a limited amount of choices to make since there are few contested races at the municipal and school district levels.

Republican voters in Lansford will have to decide the nomination for the race for the mayor's office, where two persons are running against each other. Meanwhile, there are five Democratic candidates seeking four nominations for seats on the Panther Valley School District Board of Education.

Otherwise, there are no contested races in either Nesquehoning or Summit Hill.

A breakdown of what to expect on the ballots in the three PV communities from Carbon County includes:


A race for the Republican nomination for the mayor's office highlights the municipal ballot in Lansford Borough this time around.

Mayor Ronald B. Hood is running for re-election to a four-year term, but faces opposition from Tim Midas. The winner of that race will face Democrat James Romankow in November. Romankow is unopposed for the Democratic nomination.

There are three four-year terms on borough council to be filled and neither party has a contested Primary. On the Democratic side are incumbent Leonard S. Kovach and John Williams. The lone GOP candidate is Martin S. Ditsky. The terms of council members Samantha Yasson and Danielle Smith are expiring. They are not candidates.

Tax Collector Daniel J. Wynn is also running for re-election to another four-year term of office. He has no opposition within his party nor from a Republican candidate.

Town voters will also elect judges of elections and inspectors of elections in each of the borough's three election precincts. The candidates are: District 23 - Republican Frances Barno, inspector of elections; District 24 - Democrat David Spence, judge of elections, and Democrat Roberta Spence and Republican Doreen Diordano, inspectors of elections; and District 25 - Democrat Leonard Benek, judge of elections.


There are no contested races on the Primary Election ballot in Nesquehoning.

Mayor K. Tony Walck and Tax Collector Patricia Vito, both Democrats, are running for re-election to their four-year terms. Neither has opposition from either party.

There are three borough council seats to be filled, all for four-year terms. The Democrats have three candidates, including incumbents Mary Fox and Rose M. Sniscak Walck, who are joined on the ticket by Michael T. Sniscak Jr. There is only one GOP candidate, that being Richard Zabroski. Incumbent David Hawk, whose term is also expiring, is not a candidate.

Nesquehoning voters will also fill judges of elections and inspectors of elections positions in each of the town's two voting precincts. There are no contested races for these positions. In fact, there is only one candidate on the ballot for these positions, that being Democrat Donna Malaska, who is running for judge of elections in District 42.

Summit Hill

Summit Hill voters will not have any challenges from which to choose in the Primary Election. Six persons are running unopposed for positions that they currently hold. All are Democrats.

Mayor Paul McArdle is seeking another four-year term and is without opposition on both tickets, as is Tax Collector Alice Kane.

In the borough council race, three incumbents are vying for three four-year terms and a fourth member of the board is seeking the two-year term that is available.

The candidates for four-year terms are John J. O'Gurek Jr., William Chapman and William J. O'Gurek Jr., the latter having been appointed to the term of Harry Miller, who resigned.

Gregory V. Kosciolek, who was appointed to the unexpired term of Francis O'Gorman, who resigned, is running for the two-year term.

There are no Republican candidates for any of the offices in the town.

Summit Hill voters will also elect judges of elections and inspectors of elections for four-year terms in each of the town's four election precincts. The candidates are: District 52 - Democrat Sheryl A. Radocha, judge of elections; and Democrat Barbara Shelton, inspector of elections; District 53 - Democrat Joseph J. O'Gurek, judge of elections (seeking write-in vote); and Democrat Aurelia DeMatto, inspector of elections (seeking write-in vote); District 54 - Democrat Faith Masayda, judge of elections; and Democrat Brenda Chasarik, inspector of elections; and District 55 - Democrat Mary Ann Eickhoff, judge of elections; and Democrat Teresa Grosso and Republican Betty June Snyder, inspector of elections.

Panther Valley School Board

Five persons are seeking four Democratic nominations and four of them are running unopposed on the Republican slate in the balloting this year for four four-year terms on the Panther Valley School District Board of Education.

Two incumbents, Irene A. Genther and Richard Zabroski, are running for re-election. Joining them on the Democratic ticket are John Williams, Brian J. Dolena and Daniel J. Heaney. The latter is not a Republican candidate.

The terms of Koreen Nalesnik and David J. Hiles, who resigned from the board earlier this year, are expiring. They are not candidates.

Voters in Lansford, Nesquehoning and Summit Hill in Carbon County and Coaldale Borough in Schuylkill County comprise the district's at-large balloting.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


November 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries