Skip to main content

Voting focus in Jim Thorpe area will be on Penn Forest, school race

  • Voting focus in Jim Thorpe area will be on Penn Forest, school race
    Copyright 2013
Published May 15. 2013 05:03PM

A race for two nominations on both the Democratic and Republican ballots for Penn Forest Township supervisor, and a six-person challenge for four nominations on both tickets for positions on the Jim Thorpe Area School District Board of Education highlight the Primary Election balloting in that region.

The election will be held Tuesday, May 21.

There are two supervisors' seats, both for six-year terms, up for grabs. Each party has three candidates, with the top two finishers on each side to square off against each other in November.

Meanwhile, six persons are bidding to win Democratic and Republican nominations for the four four-year terms available on the school board.

Otherwise, there are no contested races in either Jim Thorpe Borough or Kidder Township.

A breakdown of what to expect on the ballots in the Jim Thorpe area communities includes:

Penn Forest Township

Races for both the Democratic and Republican nominations for two six-year terms on the Penn Forest Township Board of Supervisors highlights the Primary Election ballot.

Voting will also focus on the four-year term for tax collector after longtime officeholder Barbara A. Ahner decided not to seek another term.

The terms of two supervisors are set to expire. They include Paul Montemuro and Alan Katz. Montemuro, a Democrat, is running again. Katz is not. Joining Montemuro on the Democratic ballot will be Robert John Serafini and Scott Lignore. The top two finishers will face the top two vote-getters in a three-person race on the Republican side. Those candidates are Thomas W. Cross, Philip Shedaker and Floyd Day.

The tax collector's term will be for four years. There is only one candidate filed to seek a nomination, that being Republican Heidi Boese. However, Democrat Josiah Behrens has announced he is seeking his party's nomination via the write-in method. If he is successful, the two will square off in November.

The township voters are also expected to fill a six-year term as auditor this year. There are no candidates on either ticket for the position.

Penn Forest voters will also elect a judge of elections and inspector of elections, all for four-year terms, in each of the township's five voting precincts. The candidates include: District 51-2 - Democrat Joyce A. Gaumer, judge of elections; and Democrat Sherry Lynn Knappenberger and Republican Alfred Feuerstein, inspectors of elections; District 51-3 - Democrat Robert F. Steiger, judge of elections; and Democrat Julia A. Steiger, inspector of elections; District 51-4 - Democrat John Danchak, judge of elections; and Democrat Donna Danchak and Republican Dolores C. Cosgrove, inspectors of elections; and District 51-5 - Republican Bob Savino, judge of elections; and Democrat Glenn Bachman and Republican Barbara Savino, inspectors of elections.

Jim Thorpe Area School Board

There are five seats to be filled on the Jim Thorpe Area School District Board of Education this year, including four four-year terms and one two-year term.

For the four-year terms, there are six candidates, including incumbents Dennis J. McGinley, Gerald "Jerry" Strubinger, Robert Schaninger, who is filling an unexpired term left by the resignation of Jeremy Melber, and John P. Ciavarella Jr., who was appointed to the unexpired term of the late Thomas Henry. All four are seeking both Democratic and Republican nominations, as are John F. Marchione and Glenn F. Confer Sr.

The top four Democrats will face the top four GOP winners in November.

Incumbent director Randall L. Smith is not seeking re-election.

For the two-year term, Ciavarella is the lone candidate on both ballots.

Voters in Jim Thorpe and Penn Forest Township, as well as those who reside in Kidder Township's South District comprise the district's at-large balloting.

Jim Thorpe

No contested municipal races confront Jim Thorpe Borough voters in the May Primary Election, although there will be a mayor's race in the fall.

Mayor Michael J. Sofranko, a Republican, is running for re-election to another four-year term and is unopposed, and is likely to face Democrat Dennis J. McGinley Jr. in November. McGinley is the lone Democratic candidate for the post.

Town voters are also expected to fill four four-year terms on the borough council. There are only four candidates two incumbents and two newcomers all on the Democratic side. They include incumbents Gregory Strubinger and Joanne Klitsch and newcomers Paulette L. Haupt and Thomas Highland. Council members Jay Miller, who is filling the unexpired term of Justin Yaich, who resigned, and Kyle Sheckler are not candidates.

Tax collector Terry McElmoyle, a Democrat, is running for re-election to another four-year term. He is unopposed on the Democratic ticket. There is also no GOP candidate.

The borough voters will also fill four-year terms as judges of elections and inspectors of elections in each of the five voting precincts in the community. There is one contested race among those races, that being in District 17 where Republicans Steven Perdie and Doren S. Perdie are running against each other for inspector of elections.

Uncontested candidates include: District 14 - Republican Adele Rosick, inspector of elections; and Democrat Amanda J. Freeby, judge of elections; District 15 - Democrat Mary T. McFarland, inspector of elections; District 16 - Democrat Sara E. Solt, inspector of elections; District 18 - Democrat Mary Strohl, inspector of elections, and Republican Edith Crossin, judge of elections.

Kidder Township

There are no contested races in Kidder Township for the Primary balloting. Voters are scheduled to vote on a six-year term on the township's board of supervisors, a four-year term as tax collector and a six-year term as auditor.

In the supervisor's race, Democrat Mary Farnschlader, an incumbent, is running unopposed for re-election. On the opposite side is unopposed Republican Thomas "Bing" LaFond. They will meet in the General Election.

Tax collector Kim Ginopolas, a Democrat, is also running for re-election. She has no opposition on either ballot.

There is also no candidate for the six-year term as auditor.

Kidder voters will also vote for four-year terms as judges of elections and inspectors of elections in each of the two voting precincts in the township. There are no candidates for the judges of elections positions whereas seeking inspectors of elections terms are: District 20 - Democrat Kathleen Spolowich and Republican Sharon Roegge; and District 21 - Farnschlader.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


November 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries