Skip to main content

Annual Law Day program held at Carbon courthouse

  • District Judges Casimir J. Kosciolek, left, and Edward M. Lewis, presided over the mock trial. Photos by Sheri Ryan/TIMES NEWS
    District Judges Casimir J. Kosciolek, left, and Edward M. Lewis, presided over the mock trial. Photos by Sheri Ryan/TIMES NEWS
Published May 02. 2013 05:02PM

The annaul Law Day program of the Carbon County Bar Association was held on Wednesday at the courthouse in Jim Thorpe.

The annual program has students from the counties' six high schools - Lehighton, Palmerton, Jim Thorpe, Panther Valley, Weatherly, and the Carbon County Vocational Technical Institute, attending the session which runs from 9 a.m. to about noon. Marian High School in Schuylkill County usually sends students to the program but was unable to this year.

The program, traditionally held on May 1, is an opportunity for those attending to learn first-hand how the judicial system works and celebrate and enjoy their freedom.

The program begins with the students viewing the jury orientation video that is viewed by all prospective jurors when called for duty in the county.

Following that the students heard remarks by the county's three sitting judges, President Judge Roger N. Nanovic II, Judge Steven R. Serfass, and Judge Joseph J. Matika.

Mock trial

A highlight of the program is a mock trial put on by the students. This year the Palmerton High School Mock Trial Team conducted the trial.

Some of the students from each of the high schools attending are picked to serve as the jury. After listening to the opening statements of the attorneys, testimony from witnesses, closing arguments, charge of the jury, the panel goes to the deliberation room and reaches a verdict.

District Judges Edward M. Lewis, of Jim Thorpe, and Casimir J. Kosciolek, of Lansford, presided over the mock trial.

Participating in the trial were Palmerton students Laurel Seemiller, Brittany Frohnheiser, Jordan Cressman, Maison Allen, Devon Santos, Seth Andress, Gabe Scott, Andrew Nosti, Tyler Snyder, Jacklyn Wood, Kaitlynn Stevens, and Abbyrose Emes. Jennifer Danzeison, was the team supervisor.

The bar association's Young Lawyers Division were in charge of the program and its planning.

Barry C. Shabbick, is the bar association chancellor, with Cynthia Dyrda-Hatton, first vice chancellor, Gregory L. Mousseau, second vice chancellor, Kim R. Roberti, treasurer, Seth Miller, secretary, and Sheri A. Ryan, coodinator.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed


STEP-Up Tamaqua to meet Monday

40.798347, -75.970851

STEP-Up Tamaqua will...

Man faces charges for shooting his dog

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Charges have been fi...

Extension hosts annual dinner

40.7986942, -75.8104747

The Carbon County Ex...

Reader Photo Galleries