Skip to main content

LAMS holds B.O.S.S. breakfast

Published February 22. 2013 05:03PM

Lehighton Area Middle School held its first B.O.S.S. breakfast program for the 2012-2013 school year. The program is designed to highlight outstanding student achievement at the Middle School.

Each of the 10 teams at the middle school who comprise of the core subjects of language arts, math, science and social Studies, as well as the Art, Reading, Music, Physical Education, Keyboarding, Industrial Tech and Family & Consumer science departments selected an outstanding male and female student to be honored at the breakfast. Teachers representing each team were also present to highlight their outstanding students.

Fifth and sixth grade students who received awards are: Ethan Ackernecht, Madison Ahner, Asia Arner, Isabella Baka, Mason Barndt, Evan Beers, Shealynn Buchert, Dylan Coffin, Simon Costello, Olivia Frendt, Ashley Fritz, Austin Fritzinger, Brett Gasker, Jessica Hess, Karissa Hough, Shain Hrusovsky, Jessica Kellner, Emily Kleintop, Cierra Kunkle, Calvin Maholick, Aidan Malloy, Emma McClafferty, Ryan Nametko, Aleah Nothstein, Makayla Nothstein, Logan Pagotto, Amya Quinones, Brandon Ramirez, Lucas Sanguiliano, Benjamin Schatz, Gavin Sherer, Alexander Slaw, Joshua Smith, Natalie Smith, Aaliyah Stanley, Jonathan Vogl, Alyssa Williams, Shane Williams and Cassidy Yackanicz.

Seventh and eighth grade students who received awards are: Justin Ahner, Codi Balliet, Michael Blacketter, Aubrey Blasiak, Savanna Buchinsky, Erika Cruver, Andrew Ebbert, Matthew Eckhart, Tanner Eckman, Abram Fitzsimmons, Julie Frey, Emily Haberman, Katelyn Haupt, Ryan Heery, Thera Hibbler, Kaitlin Higgins, Breanna Hoffner, Elise Johnston, McKenna Knappenberger, Kyle Krempasky, Patrick Lawler, Ryan Moerder, Mataya Neff, Lyssa Pantella, Alivia Paules, Cheyenne Pettit, Mitchell Quigley, Rajah Quinones, Jessica Ripkey, Shawn Rutcosky, Jackson Schaeffer, Gabrielle Schaffer, Brandon Schnell, Dylan Scott, Ty Sharrow, Sydney Snyder, Kyrsten Solt, Kyle Strohl, Tyler Steigerwalt, Matthew Strubinger, Lauren Wentz and Nolan Wentz. The Lehighton Area School District and the Middle School believe parents, administrators and teachers need to work cooperatively to motivate students and create a school environment based on positive student/staff relationships. Our students represent a diverse collection of human beings with different talents, personalities, skills and aspirations. We believe every student should have the opportunity to receive deserved praise and recognition as well as acknowledgment of success.

The program has adopted a flexible criteria selection process which allows all students to be eligible for this award. The process allows a more individualized approach to recipient selection. The faculty looks for students who display hard work, dedication, pleasant attitude, achievement, and above all the desire for improvement.

Dr. Mark McGalla, principal, welcomed the parents to the middle school. Guest speakers, Craig Reichl, principal of Lehighton High School and Mrs. Sean LeDonne, supervisor of Special Services offered words of encouragement and advice to both the students and parents.

Closing remarks were given by Mr. DeAngelo, assistant principal.

The breakfast is an important function of the middle school throughout the year. The awards and refreshments of the B.O.S.S. program are being funded by the Lehighton Area Middle School Student Advisory Council.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries