Skip to main content

George races to modified win

Published August 07. 2013 05:03PM

Nevin George picked up his second Modified win of the season in what was one very exciting feature race. Two-wide racing took place from the get-go and it would be that type of action that played a part in George earning the win.

Matt Wentz grabbed the early lead and was clinging to the front spot as a pack of opponents were all over him. Kris Graver, Chip Santee and George were challenging him the most.

After being closed out numerous times Santee finally got a clear shot at Wentz on a lap 17 restart. For Santee, despite finally getting to the front, there remained an intense battle on his rear bumper. George, Graver, Earl Paules and Eric Beers all were within striking distance.

At the completion of lap 23 Beers pulled next to Santee and at that point the escalating battle would soon came to a head. Both entered into turn four locked even. They banged and Santee lost control and spun. Beers was called for his part in the incident and was sent to the rear with Santee for the restart.

George was now in control with Graver second. As was the rhythm of the race George was being put to the test by Graver. George held on for win number two and just as important gained series ground on Beers in the point standings.

Rookie Graver turned in a solid performance in taking runner-up honors. Wentz stayed strong and was third. In the make-up Late Model feature from July 27, Zeiner raced to his first win with the class. The raced picked up with two laps already in and Frankie Althouse leading.

Zeiner was lined up fifth and when the race resumed he quickly went past Paul Effrig and Mike Sweeney and honed in on Althouse.

With eight laps to go Zeiner thrust past for the lead.

In the regular feature Althouse would again race to the lead in the early going. Always impressive when out front, he was not letting anyone steal his thunder.

Zeiner and Paules where side-by-side behind Althouse. Then with 13 of 25 laps complete Zeiner unlatched from Paules and hooked alongside Althouse. Several laps of torrid two abreast action then began.

Zeiner, looking to repeat, moved to the front on lap 19 but it turned into a short stint as next time around Althouse ran into the back of him which sent the leader spinning. Althouse was sent to the back for his part.

Paules steered clear and went from third to first on the restart. He was being hotly contested by Sweeney but held his ground and parked in Victory Lane for an unprecedented seventh time.

In the make-up Street Stock feature from July 27, TJ Gursky hustled his way past Jamie Smith on a lap five restart and then held off Lonnie Behler.

In the regular feature Smith led again but this time he would not be passed and scored his first win of the year .

Modified Feature Finish (35 Laps): 1. Nevin George, 2. Kris Graver, 3. Matt Wentz, 4. Zane Zeiner, 5. Earl Paules, 6. Todd Baer, 7. Rick Kirkendall, 8. Roger Coss. 9. John Bennett, 10. Kevin Rex Jr., 11. Chip Santee, 12. Eric Beers, 13. Terry Markovic, 14. Todd Geist, 15. Brent Wentz, 16. Paul Frantz, 17. Lou Strohl, 18. Tommy Flanagan, 19. John Markovic, 20. Dean Ficarro, 21. Eric Kocher

Late Model Make-up Feature Finish from 7/27 (25 Laps): 1. Zane Zeiner, 2. Frankie Althouse, 3. Paul Effrig, 4. Earl Paules, 5. Kevin Graver Jr., 6. Kenny Hein, 7. Mike VanFossen, 8. Jennifer Kutz, 9. George Ramos, 10. Mark Simon, 11. Mike Sweeney, 12. Taya Wentz, 13. Geno Steigerwalt, 14. Joe Stamm

Regular Late Model Feature Finish (25 Laps): 1. Paules, 2. Sweeney, 3. Effrig, 4. Graver, 5. Zeiner, 6. Ramos, 7. Kutz, 8. Hein, 9. Simon, 10. VanFossen, 11. Althouse, 12. Wentz

Street Stock Make-up Feature Finish from 7/27 (30 Laps): 1. TJ Gursky, 2. Lonnie Behler, 3. Stacey Brown, 4. Josh Mooney, 5. Randy Ahner Jr., 6. Todd Ahner, 7. Jason Frey, 8. Kristy Arthofer, 9. Chip Wanamaker, 10. Jason Beers, 11. Kyle Strohl, 12. Jason Kuhn, 13. Jillian Long, 14. Gene Bowers, 15. Zach Graver, 16. Justin Mooney, 17. Jamie Smith, 18. Aaron Kromer, 19. Jonathan Tracey, 20. Steven Steigerwalt, 21. Willie Knappenberger. DNQ: Did not qualify: Tiffany Wambold, BJ Wambold, Philip Sabetine, Guy Ackerman, Lucas Santee

Regular Street Stock Feature Finish (30 Laps): 1. Smith, 2. Behler, 3. Justin Mooney, 4. Steigerwalt, 5. Wanamaker, 6. Graver, 7. Beers, 8. Brown, 9. Gursky, 10. Bowers, 11. Arthofer, 12. Frey, 13. Randy Ahner Jr., 14. Strohl, 15. Josh Mooney, 16. Kuhn, 17. Kromer, 18. Knappenberger, 19. Todd Ahner, 20. Tracey. DNQ: Jillian Long, Tiffany Wambold, Eric Kocher, Guy Ackerman, Mike Garris Sr., BJ Wambold

Dirt Modified Feature Finish (25 Laps): 1. Ricky Yetter, 2. JP Curry, 3. Jeff Parker, 4. Ray Deemer, 5. Aleia Geisler, 6. Dave Gorbatuk, 7. Frank Parastino, 8. Bobby Butler, 9, Drew Reinbold, 10. Billy Lowden Jr., 11. Mark Martini, 12. Dave Thomas, 13. Mike Stofflet

Pro 4 Feature Finish (20 Laps): 1. Kyle Strohl, 2. Bobby Kibler Jr., 3. Nick Baer, 4. Danielle Paules, 5. Jake Kibler, 6. Tyler Stangle, 7. Cody Kohler, 8. Chad Miller

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries