Skip to main content

Three share laurels in Triple 25 features

Published May 07. 2012 05:02PM

In the first installment of the Mahoning Modified Madness Series which featured the Triple 25s, Zane Zeiner, Bath, Don Wagner, Wharton NJ, and Matt Hirschman from Northampton picked up victories.

Each race paid $1000-to-win and was highlighted by an inversion of the second and third features. The well thought out concept proved to be a success as 30 quality asphalt Modifieds where pit-side looking to make the 22 car starting grid via time trials and a pair of B-mains.

Zanier, who was the Opening Night winner, was flawless in his Cojones Energy Shots No. 76 while staying at the head of the pack. All Hirschman could do was ride along in second as the leader was too strong for him to challenge. Earl Paules, Mike Carroll, Jr., and Don Wagner kept in tow to round out the top five.

Wagner made his winning pass with six laps to go in the second race, utilizing the same path on the top groove to earn the second feature. Paules had tagged along with Wagner and made the race to the checkered a barnburner as he was zeroing in very quickly. Wagner just barely nipped him with a slim .051-second margin of victory. Kevin Rex, Jr., Zeiner and Jones completing the top five.

For the final leg the top 10 where flip-flopped which put defending track champion Tyler Haydt on the pole flanked by Bollinger.

Carroll was having one of his best night's and was holding steady with his chances at winning. However, Hirschman, who was piloting the J & J Motorsports No. 59, kept the pressure on and on lap 14 he went to the outside of Carroll and powered his way to the front where he would remain the rest of the way.

Thanks in part to a pole starting spot, Paules from Palmerton, went two-for-two in the Late Models as he ran out-front for all 25 caution free laps. The current point leader has now led 25 straight laps over the first two 2012 events.

For Jason Frey of Lehighton, he was in the right place, right time in winning the Street Stock main. Running third with three laps to go, Frey seemed poised to follow a few car lengths behind front runners Kevin Smith and Josh Mooney.

However, Mooney tagged the back end of Smith on lap 22 and sent both spinning. Frey was aiming right at them but somehow managed to sneak by without contact.

In Dirt Mod action is was all about Kris Graver. The reigning class titlist from Lehighton was on cruise control throughout the night as he began by winning his heat and then from his second starting spot in the main went all out from start to finish in capturing the dominating verdict.

Jeremy Miller of Northampton kept his 4-Cylinder Stock top finishing status in tact as he notched his second straight win over '11 champ Barry Christman, Jr.

"Mr. Starter" Roger Snyder of Kempton, Mahoning's Chief Starter, took time from his post to strap into his Micro Stock and after a very spirited battle among the lead pack, he emerged the winner.

The race was a resemblance of "pack racing" as new motor rules within the club kept all the action close. Walt Mueller was second with Brian Correll a near third.

Modified Feature Finish (1st Feat.), 25 Laps: 1. Zane Zeiner, 2. Matt Hirschman, 3. Earl Paules, 4. Mike Carroll, Jr., 5. Don Wagner, 6. John Bennett, 7. Kevin Rex, Jr., 8. Joe Mooney, 9. Bobby Jones, 10. Matt Wentz, 11. Troy Bollinger, 12. Chip Santee, 13. John Markovic, 14. Todd Baer, 15. Nevin George, 16. Tyler Haydt, 17. Brian DeFebo, 18. James Pritchard, Jr., 19. Shawn Sitarchyk, 20. Terry Markovic, 21. Jim Zacharias, 22. Mike Sweeney

Modified Feature Finish (2nd Feat.) 1. Wagner, 2. Paules, 3. Rex, 4. Zeiner, 5. Jones, 6. Hirschman, 7. George, 8. Carroll, 9. Bollinger, 10. Haydt, 11. Baer, 12. J. Markovic, 13. Bennett, 14. Pritchard, 15. Scott Meckes, 16. T. Markovic, 17. Sitarchyk, 18. Zacharias, 19. Sweeney, 20. Wentz, 21. Santee, 22. Mooney

Modified Feature Finish (3rd Feat.) 1. Hirschman, 2. Carroll, 3. Wagner, 4. Bollinger, 5. Paules, 6. Baer, 7. George, 8. Bennett, 9. Rex, 10. Meckes, 11. J. Markovic, 12. Pritchard, 13. Santee, 14. Zacharias, 15. Mooney, 16. DeFebo, 17. T. Markovic, 18. Jones, 19. Haydt, 20. Sitarchyk, 21. Zeiner, 22. Sweeney

Did not start: Wentz. Did not qualify: Matt Higgins, Lonnie Behler, Tracy Brown, Chip Wanamaker, Lou Strohl, Paul Skodacek, DJ Wagner

Late Model Feature Finish, 25 Laps: 1. Earl Paules, 2. Paul Koehler, Jr., 3. Rick Wallace, 4. Mike VanFossen, 5. Dave Wallace, 6. Mike Sweeney, 7. Tony Zatsko, 8. Ed Bauer, 9. George Ramos, 10. Pat Hargan, 11. Glenn Slocum, 12. Paul Effrig, 13. Kenny Hein, 14. Casey Creyer, 15. Mark Simon

Street Stock Feature Finish, 25 Laps: 1. Jason Frey, 2. Todd Ahner, 3. Joe Steigerwalt, 4. Randy Ahner, Jr., 5. TJ Gursky, 6. Gene Bowers, 7. Jillian Long, 8. Joe Roberts, 9. Kyle Strohl, 10.Jason Kuhn, 11. Jonathan Tracy, 12. BJ Wambold, 13. Josh Mooney, 14. Kevin Smith, 15. Joe Stamm, 16. Justin Mooney DQ: Chris Parry

Dirt Modified Feature Finish, 20 Laps: 1. Kris Graver, 2. Mike Stofflet, 3. Randy Thomas, 4. Dave Thomas, 5. Mark Levy, 6. Joe Stangle, 7. Ed Altemose, 8. Aleia Geisler, 9. Bill Sittler, Jr., 10. Ronnie Krex

4-Cylinder Stock Feature Finish, 20 Laps: 1. Jeremy Miller, 2. Barry Christman, Jr., 3. Jake Kibler, 4. Cody Roth, 5. Jake Oswald, 6. Nick Baer, 7. Bobby Kibler, Jr., 8. Josh Oswald, 9. Robert Miller, 10. Tyler Stangle, 11. Kyle Strohl, 12. Dan Freundt, 13. Jay Garris, 14. Doug Knauss Did not start: Taya Wentz

Micro Stock Feature Finish, 20 Laps: 1. Roger Snyder, 2. Walt Mueller, 3. Brain Correll, 4. Wayne Krenn, 5. Bill Darling, 6. Bob Wagner, 7. Joe Pritchard, 8. Mario Oberto, 9. James Dobbs, Jr., 10. John Rakos, 11. John Dobbs, Sr., 12. Dave Allen, 13. John Heiser, 14. Kevin Soberick, 15. Tyler Wagner, 16. Joe Carroll, 17. Mike Duffy

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed


STEP-Up Tamaqua to meet Monday

40.798347, -75.970851

STEP-Up Tamaqua will...

Man faces charges for shooting his dog

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Charges have been fi...

Extension hosts annual dinner

40.7986942, -75.8104747

The Carbon County Ex...

Reader Photo Galleries