Skip to main content

Dean Kercsmar named chairman of supervisors

Published January 07. 2012 09:02AM

East Penn Township supervisors elected a new chairman during their annual reorganization meeting.

Dean Kercsmar will head the board, replacing Herb Truhe in the position.

Other supervisors, besides Kercsmar and Truhe, are Jacob Nothstein, vice chairman; John Strockoz, and Cory Smith.

The secretary for the township and planning commission is Deanna Cunfer. Susan Rhoads-Procina is the treasurer.

The road master for 2012 will be Cory Smith.

Michael Hudson was named to the vacancy board.

Jim Nanovic of Nanovic Law Office returns as the solicitor for the township and planning commission; and Bruce Steigerwalt is the township engineer.

There are vacant seats on both the planning commission and zoning hearing board. Jay Frey is an alternate on the zoning board. The positions of representative to the Lehigh Canal Commission and the recreation board are also vacant.

Alice Berger was reappointed to the parks commission.

Carl Wolfe is the sewage enforcement officer with Scott Bieber as assistant.

The zoning officer is Richard Dietrich.

Cory Smith is fire chief with Robert Kleintop Jr. as assistant chief. Kleintop is also emergency management coordinator. Dennis Cunfer is Deputy EMC.

The building code official is Sean Corey of Spotts, Stevens and McCoy.

Ronald Elsasser is the representative to the Lehighton Library Committee.

Sherri Kleintop is used as stenographer when hearings require one.

William Schwab is representative to the Lehighton Area School District.

Schwab, Kercsmar and Gary Kuehner are representatives to the regional comprehensive plan discussions.

Cunfer is the open records officer. She, along with Cory Smith are in charge of the CDL drug testing program.

Schwab is on the local tax collection committee. Nothstein and Cunfer are contacts for the census. Smith and Cunfer work with Pa. One Call.

On the agriculture security advisory committee are Kercsmar, Gary Kuehner, Strockoz, Dennis Cunfer and Todd Schleicher.

The treasurer's bond was approved at $950,000 and the sewer clerk's bond is $300,000. The mileage rate for reimbursement for the use of a personal car is at the Internal Revenue Service rate.

Meetings will be held the first Monday of a month at 5 p.m. except when the Monday is a holiday and the meeting is moved to Tuesday. Office hours are Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed


STEP-Up Tamaqua to meet Monday

40.798347, -75.970851

STEP-Up Tamaqua will...

Man faces charges for shooting his dog

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Charges have been fi...

Extension hosts annual dinner

40.7986942, -75.8104747

The Carbon County Ex...

Reader Photo Galleries