Skip to main content

No changes in Palmerton's leadership

    TERRY AHNER/TIMES NEWS Those who will comprise Palmerton Borough Council in 2012 include, front l-r, Terry Costenbader, president; Kris Hoffner, Richard Nothstein, Jeremy Barbosa; and back l-r, Brad Doll, mayor; Chris Olivia, vice-president; Randolph Gursky; and Jason Behler.
Published January 04. 2012 05:01PM

Palmerton will continue to run under the same leadership in 2012.

Borough council unanimously agreed at its reorganizational meeting on Tuesday to reappoint Councilman Terry Costenbader as president, and Councilman Chris Olivia as vice-president.

Also as part of its reorganization, council:

Appointed Randolph Gursky as chairman pro tem.

Appointed Rodger Danielson as borough manager, secretary, and streets commissioner.

Appointed Donna McGarry as treasurer/ assistant secretary.

Appointed Michael Ozalas as solicitor.

Appointed Keystone Engineers as general engineer.

Appointed ARRO Consulting Engineers as sewer and water engineer.

Appointed Duane Dellecker as code enforcement officer.

Appointed Larry Zawaly as code enforcement agent.

Appointed ARRO Consulting Engineers as sewer enforcement officer.

Appointed John Nicholson to a five-year term on the Board of Health.

Appointed Kris Hoffner to a six-year term on the Police Civil Service Commission.

Appointed Michael Bloomfield to a three-year term, and Michael Ballard to a one-year term as an alternate on the zoning hearing board.

Appointed William Smelas to a five-year term on the municipal authority.

Appointed Sandra Decker and Gerald Robertson to four-year terms on the planning commission.

Appointed Frank J. Hager to a five-year term on the Palmerton Hospital Authority.

Appointed Erik Snyder, David Walasavage, and William McMullen to five-year terms on the BOCA Board of Appeals.

Appointed Karin Kasten to a two-year term on the Council Vacancy Board.

Appointed Joseph Kercsmar as emergency management coordinator.

Appointed Jack Woginrich as representative to the library board.

Appointed Danielson as representative to Carbon County Solid Waste Advisory Committee.

Appointed McGarry as representative to Carbon County Tax Collection Committee, with Danielson as the alternate, and Richard Nothstein as second alternate.

Announced council will continue to meet at 7 p.m. the second and fourth Thursday of each month. Exceptions include the month of November, when council meets the Tuesday before Thanksgiving, and in December, when council meets the first and third Thursday of the month.

Also as part of its reorganization, council announced openings on the following committees:

A four-year term on the Board of Health

A three-year term on the Shade Tree Commission

A two-year term on the Palmerton Hospital Authority.

Also on Tuesday, council agreed to refinance a 2003 bond that will result in a one-time $60,000 savings to the borough this year. The bond was used to purchase the borough's water company.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries