Skip to main content

Gursky renamed president of Tamaqua council

    LIZ PINKEY/SPECIAL TO THE TIMES NEWS Members of Tamaqua Borough Council include, seated l-r, Mayor Christian Morrison, Council members David Mace, Brian Connely, and Thomas Cara; back l-r, council members, Dan Evans, Ken Smulligan, John Trudich, borough manager Kevin Steigerwalt, council president Micah Gursky, and borough secretary/treasurer Georgia Depos DeWire.
Published January 04. 2012 05:01PM

Tamaqua Borough Council will remain basically unchanged heading into 2012.

Micah Gursky was unanimously reelected as president by his fellow council members at a reorganization meeting Tuesday. Council members Brian Connely, Ken Smulligan, and Thomas Cara retained their seats, and Dan Evans, who was appointed by council to fill the remainder of Stephen Tertel's term after he resigned earlier last year, was reappointed to fill the seat vacated again by Tertel after he won again in November.

Tertel moved to Florida last year; however, his name remained on the ballot.

Connely was unanimously approved as vice president and John Trudich as president pro tem.

Council approved the list of elected and appointed borough officials, authorities, boards, and commissions.

Alan Kerr remains the borough's tax collector. Karl Smulligan, Betsy Kline Melnick, and Richard M. Hadesty Jr, are the borough's elected auditors. Charles T. Rodgers is constable. Raymond Bonetsky will serve as the vacancy board chairman. Michael Greek will continue as the borough's solicitor.

Borough personnel will remain unchanged, as follows: Dave Mattson, chief of police; Kevin Steigerwalt, borough manager; Robert Jones, public works director; Georgia Depos DeWire, borough secretary/treasurer; Karen Davison, assistant borough secretary; Eileen Barron, assistant borough treasurer; Alfred Benesch & Company, borough engineer; James Barron, zoning, health, code officer; Carl Wolfe Jr., sewage enforcement officer; Maille, Falconiero & Company, appointed auditors; Central Tax Bureau, appointed tax collector; Schuylkill County Tax Claim Bureau; appointed tax collector; Thomas Hartz, Jr., fire chief; and Robert Jones, emergency management coordinator.

Earl Boettger and Judy Hadesty, R.N., health officer, were reappointed to the board of health. Sally Neumann was reappointed to the Historic Architectural Review Commission.

The Planning Commission currently has two vacant positions and is in need of a secretary. The Zoning Hearing Board solicitor has not been appointed yet. The Board of Appeals is also in need of a secretary.

Richard Baddick was appointed to the employee pension committee. John Handler was reappointed as the borough representative to the Eastern Schuylkill Recreation Commission.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries