Skip to main content

Coaches named at Tamaqua Area School District

Published August 22. 2012 05:02PM

At Tuesday's regular meeting of Tamaqua Area School Board, directors announced the following individuals hired as coaches at stipends to be determined:

Thomas Messerschmidt, New Ringgold, junior high head track coach; Thomas Bonner, New Ringgold, and Michael Luna, junior high assistant track coaches. Other track assistant coaches will be Michael Sakash, Frank Wenzel and Andrew Smarr.

John Kotchmar will serve as volunteer assistant track coach.

Ed Titus, Tamaqua, was named eighth grade boys basketball coach and Brad Hurley, Jim Thorpe, seventh grade boys basketball coach.

Kyle Berezwick, Mahanoy Plane, was named assistant girls varsity basketball coach and Lindsey Aharonian, Tamaqua, was appointed volunteer cheerleading coach.

Also, the board approved the hiring of Erika Barron as an RPT elementary teacher at $38,933 and Zachery Evans as mentor for Barron at the stipend of $600.

The board also announced changes in lists of cafeteria employees, clerical and secretaries, approving the resignation of Kristina Lakitsky as secretary effective Aug. 8 and the addition of Diane Malay as part-time secretary at a date to be arranged by the superintendent.

Karen Berezwick was named assistant to the food service director at $10.83 per house, a 10-month position, effective Aug. 22; and Ann Marie Hadesty will serve as a full-time cafeteria employee.

Permanent part-time cafeteria employees will be: Ann Jones, Carolyn Soley, June Warner, Angela Weliconis, Barbara Swartz, Deanna Goho and Karen Kunkel, all of Tamaqua; Anna Danner, Middleport; Linda Duda and Lee Ann Heisler, New Ringgold; Frances Nazar, Middleport; Cheryl Swinburne, Mary-D; and Ann Trovinger, Brockton.

Kelly McGlinchey, Tamaqua, was approved as substitute cafeteria worker contingent upon submission of necessary documentation.

In other matters, Caitlin Ligenza, Nesquehoning, was added to the substitute custodian list and the board accepted the resignation of Lillian Birkmier, part-time paraprofessional.

Romayne Joseph was named M.A.G.I.C. program coordinator at $25 per hour and Amanda Woodring, co-coordinator at the same rate.

Teachers hired at $20 an hour include: Susan Brickler, Jay Daubert, Lauren Elston, Nancy Hludzik, Carla Keller, William Kimber, Mike Luna, Trish Maksimik, Ed Mariano, Koreen Nalsnik, Joe Ruddy, Corey Smith and Jennel Yelito.

Paraprofessionals hired at $9.50 an hour are: Celeste Franko, Terry Koch, Margaret Miller and Kathy Murphy.

The board announced that parents of elementary school students should drop off their children at 8:30 a.m., the time when school doors open.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries