Skip to main content

Only four races in northern Carbon County

Published October 31. 2011 05:03PM

Very few races exist for the General Election balloting in the seven northern Carbon County municipalities. Voting will take place on Tuesday, Nov. 8, from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the county's 51 voting precincts.

In northern Carbon, only four races have opposition. Those include a race for the positions of mayor and councilmen of Weatherly, as well as a battle for three four-year terms on the Beaver Meadows Borough Council and one seat on the Weatherly Area School Board.

Meanwhile, there are no contested races in Banks, Lausanne, Lehigh and Packer townships, nor East Side Boro.


In Weatherly, the candidates for the four-year term as mayor are Democrat Tom Connors and Republican Joseph D'Andrea. This is a rematch of the election of 2007 when Connors won the position over D'Andrea, who served as mayor for many years.

In the borough council race, two Democrats and two Republicans are running for two four-year terms. The Democrats are Celine A. Gerhart and Joseph M. Cyburt. They are being challenged by Republicans George E. Miller Jr. and Michael Malinics Jr.

Beaver Meadows

In Beaver Meadows, five persons are running for three four-year terms on the borough council.

They include Democrats Anthony A. Rusnock, Richard W. Donald and Alfred J. Mitcho, and Democrats James G. Leonard and Martha O. Stevens.

Democrat Annette L. Annabel is running unopposed for a six-year term as auditor.

Banks Township

A minor race exists in Banks Township, where two persons are running for a six-year term as auditor. They are Democrat Joseph R. Bodnar Jr. and Republican Alice Schwendemann.

In the race for a six-year term as supervisor, Theresa M. Schott appears on both ballots, having won both the Democratic and Republican nominations in May.

Lausanne Township

There are no races in Lausanne Township, where three Democratic candidates are unopposed.

They include Democrat Agnes K. Klynowsky, who is running for the six-year term as supervisor, and Lisa Hunsinger and Linda Kopalski, who are running unchallenged for the four-year and six-year terms as auditors, respectively.

Lehigh Township

Like Lausanne, Lehigh Township voters will have little to choose from. There are only two candidates on the ballot, both running without opposition.

They include Republicans Jill Redash-Caposella and Ernest M. Stauffer, who are running for the six-year terms as supervisor and auditor, respectively.

East Side Boro

Not only is there no competition for positions in East Side Boro, but there is also a shortage of candidates.

Voters are supposed to elect four persons to fill four-year terms on the borough council, although there are only three candidates.

They are Democrats Helen Stockinger, Rudolph C. Schoch and John Marotta.

Packer Township

Only two names appear on the ballot in Packer Township.

Both Republicans, they are Lynn Nyer, who is running for a two-year term as tax collector, and Lawrence J. Suravicz, who is seeking the six-year term as supervisor.

WASD race

Meanwhile, in the race for positions on the Weatherly Area School District Board of Education, there appears to be one race.

Voters are scheduled to elect persons to five four-year terms. In that race, there are four candidates who appear on both ballots. They include Gerard Grega, Thomas D. Russell, Edward "Skip" Snyder and Georgeann F. Herling. The fifth position has Democrat Girard A. Fewins Sr. and Republican William H. Gerhard as the candidates.

In a race for the two-year term as school director, Grega is the lone candidate, having won both the Democratic and Republican nominations in May.

Voters in Lausanne, Lehigh and Packer townships, Kidder Township North and Weatherly and East Side boroughs participate in the school district balloting.

Hazleton SD

Voters in Banks Township and Beaver Meadows will participate in the Hazleton Area School District balloting. In that race, five four-year terms are up for grabs, with four persons having secured both the Democratic and Republican nominations.

They include Robert W. Childs, Brian Earley, Tony Bonomo and Robbie Wallace. For the fifth spot, the candidates are Democrat Rocco Formica and Republican Marfy Degenhart-Yanac.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries