Skip to main content

JT board says 'goodbye' to four school directors

Published November 15. 2011 05:01PM

At Monday evening's Jim Thorpe Area School Board meeting, four school board directors were recognized as outgoing board members.

Michael Huber, Ellen Kattner, Richard Karper, and Dr. Michael Hartman were recognized for their time served on the school board.

"I appreciate all the help and direction they have given us. I look forward to working with the new member's," stated Superintendent Barbara Conway.

She also stated that each director had brought a distinct flavor and talent to the board.

Huber was on the board for four years and served as both Vice President and President. Kattner served on the board for four years. Karper served on the board for 16 years. Hartman assumed the position of the late Robert Kovac Sr. and served for two years.

Kattner wished to thank the board and stated that she enjoyed serving. Hartman also wanted to thank everyone for the great experience and he stated that he learned a lot. Huber said that he wanted to thank everyone as well and that he learned to be an active listener and to keep an open mind.

Karper was not at the meeting.

Members of the administration and school board thanked the outgoing members for all their time and hard work.

Karper and School Director Gerald Strubinger were recognized by the Pennsylvania School Board Association's Honor Roll of School Board Service. Strubinger has served for 12 years.

The next school board meeting will be December 5th and it will be a reorganization meeting.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


November 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries