Skip to main content

Top Carbon positions are up for grabs

Published November 07. 2011 05:02PM

Eight row office positions including the three commissioners' posts, the top administrative seats in the county are up for grabs tomorrow when the General Election of 2011 will be held. Voting will take place from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. in each of the county's 51 election precincts.

In addition to the row office positions, voters will elect a new judge for the Court of Common Pleas; a retention referendum exists for the current president judge (see related story on the judicial positions in today's TIMES NEWS); and county voters will participate in statewide balloting for two higher court positions, as well as retention voting for six state judgeships.

County offices

A total of 37,564 persons are eligible to participate in tomorrow's balloting, which has two Democrats and two Republicans vying for the three four-year terms on the board of commissioners that are to be determined. Voters are allowed to vote for only two of the four candidates.

They include Democrats William J. O'Gurek, the chairman of the board for the past eight years, and his running mate, Charles Getz, the vice chairman who is completing his 16th year as a commissioner; and Republicans Wayne E. Nothstein, an incumbent completing his third term on the board, and his running mate, Tom C. Gerhard, a Packer Township supervisor.

Meanwhile, four of the other row office positions have contested races, including the controller, recorder of deeds, sheriff and coroner.

Controller Robert M. Crampsie, a Democrat, is running for re-election to his sixth four-year term of office. He faces opposition from Republican Howard Boehringer.

Recorder of Deeds Emmett P. McCall, also a Democrat, is opposed by Republican Todd D. Koller. McCall is running for his fourth four-year term.

Democratic Sheriff Dwight L. Nothstein, seeking his fifth four-year term, is challenged by Republican Steve H. Armbruster.

And Coroner Bruce A. Nalesnik, also a Democrat, has Renny Shoop, a Republican, as his opponent. Like the sheriff, Nalesnik is also seeking his fifth four-year term in office.

In two other races, District Attorney Gary F. Dobias and Prothonotary Joann M. Behrens are unopposed and assured re-election to their sixth and third four-year terms, respectively.

County judges

Meanwhile, attorney Joseph J. Matika of Summit Hill, an assistant district attorney, is the heir apparent to the Court of Common Pleas. He won both the Democratic and Republican nominations in the Primary Election in May to assure victory to the 10-year term.

President Judge Roger N. Nanovic is completing his first 10-year term on the bench and is up for a retention vote. Backed by both major parties in the county, his name appears at the very end of the ballot on a referendum that requires a "yes" or "no" vote.

State judges

The county voters will take part in the election of two state judgeships, one on the Superior Court and the other on the Commonwealth Court.

Running for the Superior Court position are Democrat David N. Wecht and Republican Vic Stabile.

Seeking the Commonwealth Court position are Democrat Kathryn Boockvar and Republican Anne Covey.

In referendum votes for retention, one judge, J. Michael Eakin, is seeking retention to the Supreme Court; two judges, John T. Bender and Mary Jane Bowes, are aspiring to another term on the Superior Court; and three jurists, Renee Cohen Jubelirer, Mary Hannah Leavitt and Robin Simpson, are running for retention on the Commonwealth Court.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


November 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries