Skip to main content

2 Lehighton area municipalities to have races

Published November 02. 2011 05:02PM

Only two of the six Lehighton area municipalities will have General Election contests on Tuesday, Nov. 8. Voting will take place from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the county's 51 voting precincts.

Voters in East Penn Township and Lehighton Borough will have choices to make regarding the major elective positions in those municipalities, while there is a minor race for auditor in Franklin Township. Otherwise, little activity is likely in Mahoning Township and Parryville and Weissport boroughs since there are no challenges. That is the same situation regarding the Lehighton Area School District Board of Education and the magisterial district judgeship in that area.

East Penn Township

Two Democrats and two Republicans are aspiring to the two six-year terms on the township's board of supervisors.

The candidates are Joseph C. Ehritz and Cory Smith, Democrats, and John M. Strockoz and Cole Peffer, Republicans.

Lehighton Borough

The borough's balloting will see five persons running for four four-year terms on the borough council, while one candidate is unopposed for the lone two-year seat that is up for grabs.

For the four-year terms, the candidates are Democrat Grant R. Hunsicker and Republicans Darryl W. Ahner, Bessie Bauchspies, John Kreitz and Duane A. Dellecker.

Hunsicker is unopposed on the Democratic ballot for the two-year term.

Franklin Township

There is a race for the six-year term as township auditor. Running are Democrat Betty J. Wolfe and Republican Howard R. Boehringer Jr.

Republican Rod E. Green is running for the six-year term as supervisor and is unopposed.

Mahoning Township

There are no races in Mahoning.

Bruce R. Steigerwalt is running for the six-year term as supervisor and is unopposed, having won the Democratic and Republican nominations in the Primary Election.

Republican Wallace Putkowski is unopposed for the six-year term as auditor.

Parryville Borough

Like Mahoning, Parryville also does not have a contested race.

Only two persons are running for four-year terms on the borough council, with two seats to be filled.

The candidates are Democrat Sharon J. Keiser and Republican Michael Grant.

Weissport Borough

The Weissport ballot will have three names on it, and all of them are unopposed.

Democrat Theresa Troutman is running for the two-year term as tax collector.

There are two four-year terms on the borough council to be filled. The unopposed candidates are Democrat Arland F. Moyer Sr. and Republican Susan Pywar.

LASD board

Meanwhile, positions on the Lehighton School Board have already been decided. Voters are expected to seat five persons to four-year terms and one person to a two-year term. There are six candidates on the ballot, with all of them having won both the Democratic and Republican nominations in the Primary Election.

For the four-year terms, the cross-filed candidates are Wayne W. Wentz, Rocky C. Ahner, Andrew Yenser, Larry E. Stern and Thomas A. Zimmerman IV.

Running on both ballots for the two-year term is Harold Resh.

Magistrate's race

In the race for the six-year term as Magisterial District 56-3-01 Judge, Edward M. Lewis is unopposed. His name appears on both ballots.

The district includes the boroughs of Jim Thorpe, Lehighton and Weissport, and the townships of Penn Forest and Mahoning.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries