Skip to main content

Voters in Towamensings will make supervisors' choices

Published November 01. 2011 05:01PM

The two townships in the Palmerton Area School District will have General Election races for supervisors' positions when balloting takes place on Tuesday, Nov. 8, from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the county's 51 voting precincts.

Voters in the townships of Towamensing and Lower Towamensing will make choices for the six-year terms as supervisor. Meanwhile, there is a contested race in Bowmanstown Borough, while there are no contests for seats on the Palmerton Borough Council or Palmerton Area School District Board of Education. The magisterial district judgeship in that area has also been decided.


The race in Towamensing Township is between Democrat Rickie Green and Republican Guy Seifert for the six-year term on the board of supervisors.

That is the only race in the township.

Lower Towamensing

In Lower Towamensing Township, the only race there is between Democrat Brent M. Green and Republican Jay Mulliken for the six-year term.


Meanwhile, in Bowmanstown, four persons are running for three four-year terms on the borough council.

They include Democrat Kara M. Scott and Republicans Pamela J. Leiby, Norman A. Engle Jr. and Ernest Guldner.


The Palmerton Borough balloting comes down to complimentary votes, since there are only three persons running for three four-year terms in the council and one person running unopposed for a two-year term.

The candidates for the three-year terms are Democrats Christopher Olivia and Jeremy Barbosa, as well as Republican Terry Costenbader.

For the two-year term, the lone candidate is Randolph Gursky.

School board

There is no contest for the five four-year terms on the school board.

Running on both ballots are Tammy L. Recker, Josann M. Harry, Joshua C. Smale, Sherry Cseh-White and Charles C. Gildner.

Voters in the two townships and two boroughs participate in that balloting.

Magistrate's race

The position of Magisterial District 56-3-02 Judge in the Palmerton area has been decided, with William Kissner having won both the Democratic and Republican nominations in May. He will succeed Bruce Appleton, who is retiring from the position at the end of the year.

Voters in the four Palmerton area municipalities, as well as those in East Penn and Franklin townships and Parryville Borough participate in that balloting.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries