Skip to main content

School board race settled for Tamaqua

Published November 01. 2011 05:01PM

The race for five seats on the Tamaqua Area School Board, four year terms, was settled in the May primary as five candidates secured both the Republican and Democratic nominations.

In the order on the ballot the winners are Wanda Y. Zuber, Robert W. Betz, Eileen A. Meiser, Daniel E. Schoener and Larry A. Wittig. All are incumbents.

The lineup for other school board races in the TIMES NEWS coverage area follows.

Blue Mountain

There are five, four year terms seats, up on the Blue Mountain school board with six names on the ballot.

Getting both nominations in the May primary were John Granito, Scott Reichert, Heather L. Gosch and Marci Cryts-Kramer.

The two who will battle for the fifth seat are Republican David Lafko and Democrat Alicia Keller.

Mahanoy Area

In the Mahanoy Area School District there are five seats up for election on the board with six candidates on the ballot.

Four of the six got both nominations in the spring and are assurred of a seat. They are David Kurzinsky, Nancy M. Boyle, John F. Erbe and Michael J. Mistishen.

Squaring off for the fifth seat will be Republican Beth S. Bradbury against Democrat Thomas Bashinsky.

Hazleton Area

McAdoo and Kline Township voters cast ballots for the Hazleton Area School District.

They will have a choice as there are six candidates for five, four year seats.

Four of the six got both nominations in the spring. They are Robert W. Childs, Brian Earley, Robbie Wallace and Tony Bonomo.

Fighting it out for the fifth seat will be Republican Marfy Degenhart Yanac against Democrat Rocco Formica.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries