Skip to main content

School race likely to get lower Carbon voters' attention

Published May 10. 2011 05:00PM

The Primary Election focus in four Lower Carbon County municipalities is likely to be on races for positions on the Palmerton Area School District Board of Education and the Magisterial District 56-3-02 (see related story) judge challenge.

Otherwise, the only other contested races in that region are for GOP nominations for the office of Towamensing Township supervisor and Bowmanstown council.

Voting will take place on Tuesday, May 17, when the 2011 Primary Election is held in the county's 51 election precincts.

School board race

There are five four-year terms on the school board to be filled this time around. Eight persons are cross-filed, seeking nominations on both the Democratic and Republican ballots.

The candidates include: Michael J. Ballard, 513 Columbia Ave.; Tammy L. Recker, 1700 Little Gap Rd.; Joshua C. Smale, 554 Lehigh Ave.; Sherry A. Cseh White, 300 Forest Inn Rd.; Stuart R. Henritzy, 658 Mauch Chunk Rd.; Carl Bieling Jr., 450 Oak St.; Josann M. Harry, 208 Lafayette Ave.; and Charles C. Gildner, 510 Lehigh Ave.

Towamensing race

Meanwhile, a municipal contest exists for the Republican nomination for supervisor in Towamensing Township.

Seeking the six-year term are Guy Seifert, 730 Spruce Hollow Rd., and Rodney C. George, 250 Strohl's Valley Rd. The winner will face Democrat Rickie Green, 57552 Interchange Rd., who is unopposed.

Towamensing voters are also scheduled to fill two auditors' positions, for six-year and four-year terms. There are no candidates for the positions.


Bowmanstown voters will fill four positions on the council, including three four-year terms and one two-year term.

One contest exists in the borough balloting, that being for the Republican nominations for the four-year term. Three of four candidates will win nominations. They are Ernest W. Guldner, 508 White St.; Norman A. Engle Jr., 515 White St.; Neal M. Kester, 422 White St.; and Pamela J. Leiby, 322 Ore St. The lone Democratic candidate is Kara M. Scott, 422 Ore St.

There are no candidates for the two-year term on council.

Lower Towamensing

There is no contest in Lower Towamensing, where voters are expected to elect a supervisor and an auditor, both for six-year terms.

For supervisor, Democrat Brent M. Green of Kunkletown will face Republican Jay Mulliken, 210 Wood's Rd., in November as each is without opposition this time.

There are no candidates for the auditor's position.

Palmerton council

In Palmerton, voters will elect four council members in 2011. There are only four candidates in the Primary, meaning they too are unchallenged.

Three nominations are up for grabs on each ticket for four-year terms of office. Neither party has enough candidates. On the Democratic side are Jeremy Barbosa, 560 Lafayette Ave., and Christopher D. Olivia, 1036 Circle Drive. Terry Costenbader, 645 Columbia Ave., is the lone GOP candidate.

For one nomination for a two-year term in council, there is only one candidate. He is Randolph Gursky, 821 Edgemont Ave.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries