Skip to main content

Voters in northern Carbon have limited choices

Published May 09. 2011 05:00PM

Six contested races for party nominations exist in elections for township, borough and school district positions in Northern Carbon County. Voting will take place on Tuesday, May 17, when the 2011 Primary Election is held in the county's 51 election precincts.

The challenged races exist in Banks Township, Beaver Meadows and the Weatherly and Hazleton school districts.

In Banks, three persons are running for the Democratic nomination for a six-year term on the board of supervisors. In Beaver Meadows, there are three four-year terms up on the borough council, with four persons seeking the Democratic nominations. And in the Weatherly and Hazleton school districts, five four-year terms are up for grabs, with eight persons aspiring to the Democratic and Republican nominations in Weatherly, and nine persons seeking the nod from both parties in Hazleton.

Banks Township

The Banks race is between Nicholas Petrole, 2 Parkview Drive, David L. Davidovich, 10 E. Cherry St., and Theresa M. Schott, 52 E. Maple St. All three reside in the Tresckow section of the township. There is no Republican candidate.

Township voters are also slated to elect one person to a six-year term as auditor. There are no candidates for the position.

Beaver Meadows

The candidates on the Democratic side for nominations seeking the Beaver Meadows Council positions are Anthony A. Rusnock, rear 95 Berwick St., Richard W. Donald, 1 Second St., Mark James Lazar, 18 Second St., and Alfred Mitcho, 32 Second St.

The lone and unopposed GOP candidate is James G. Leonard, 81 Dean St.

Borough voters are also scheduled to fill terms on the board of auditors, one for six years and the other for a four-year term. No one is seeking the six-year term. Annette Lisa Annabel, 95 Berwick St., a Democrat, is the lone candidate for the four-year term.

Hazleton SD

Voters in Banks Township and Beaver Meadows Borough will participate in the balloting for nominations for five four-year terms in the Hazleton Area School Board. There are nine candidates, each of which are cross-filed and whose names appear on both ballots.

They are: Robert W. Childs, Brian Earley, Peter T. Bard, Lawrence Sampson, Jared M. O'Donnell, Tony Bonomo, Marfy Degenhart Yanac, Robbie Wallace and Rocco Formica.

Weatherly SD

The Weatherly Area School District contest has eight persons seeking five nominations for four-year terms.

Six of the candidates appear on both the Democratic and Republican ballots. They are: Georgeann R. Herling, 202 Lauderburn Ave., Girard A. Fewins Sr., 1560 S. Lehigh Gorge Road, Gerard Grega, 2432 Wetzel Run Road, Thomas D. Russell, 404 Bark Hollow Road, Edward "Skip" Snyder, 3591 Quakake Road and Amy L. Potsko, 221 Hudsondale St. The other two candidates are Phyllis C. Gebhard, 630 W. Oak Lane, White Haven, and William H. Gerhard, 1436 Wetzel Run Road, Weatherly. Their names appear on only the Republican ballot.

There is one two-year term on the board also to be filled. Grega is the lone candidate for that position. His name appears on both ballots.

The voters in Weatherly and east Side boroughs and Packer, Lehigh and Lausanne townships, as well as Kidder Township North, participate in the district's at-large balloting.

Packer Township

There are no contested races in Packer Township in the Primary. In fact, only two names appear on the ballot. Both are Republicans.

Lynn Neyer, 125 Grist Mill Road, is running for the GOP nomination for the two-year term of tax collector and Lawrence J. Suravicz, 1859 Quakake Road, is seeking the same nomination for a six-year term as supervisor.

Township voters are also slated to fill three auditors' positions, for terms of two-, four- and six-years. There are no candidates for the positions.

Lehigh Township

There are no choices to be made from Lehigh Township voters, as only two candidates appear on the ballot and both are unopposed.

Jill Redash-Capossela, 384 Laurytown Road, is running for the Republican nomination for a six-year term as supervisor, and Ernest M. Stauffer, 3178 S. Lehigh Gorge Drive, is running for the GOP nomination for a six-year term as auditor.

No one is running for the two-year term as auditor.

Lausanne Township

Three candidates appear on the Lausanne Township ballot this time around. All are unopposed.

Agnes K. Klynowsky, 143 N. Stagecoach Road, is running for the Democratic nomination for a six-year term as supervisor, while Lisa Ann Hunsinger, 2503 Buck Mountain Road, another Democrat, is unopposed for the nomination for a six-year term as auditor, and Linda Korpalski, 1643 Buck Mountain Road, faces no opposition for the nomination for a four-year term as auditor. She too is a Democrat.

There are no candidates in Lausanne for a two-year term as auditor and a four-year term as constable which are also scheduled to be filled by the electorate.


Weatherly voters are slated to elect a mayor and two council members. There are no contests in the Primary Election, although candidates lined up on both tickets will square off in November.

For mayor, Democrat Tom Connors, 243 W. Main St., and Republican Joseph E. D'Andrea, 411 Sixth St., are the candidates. It is a four-year term.

The two four-year terms on council will be decided among two Democrats and two Republicans who are unopposed next week. The Democrats are Celine A. "Cindy" Gerhart, 318 First St., and Joseph M. Cyburt, 730 North St. The GOP candidates are Michael J. Malinics Jr., 636 North St., and George E. Miller Jr., 306 Third St.

East Side

There is a shortage of candidates in East Side Borough. Voters are scheduled to fill four four-year terms on the borough council and one four-year term as constable.

There are only three candidates for the council nominations. All Democrats, they are Helen Srockinger, 240 Washington St., John Marotta, 4585 State St., and Rudolph C. Schoch, 1095 Vine St.

No one is running for constable.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries