Skip to main content

Mahoning Elementary students honored for achievements

Published June 10. 2011 05:00PM

Mahoning Elementary School students were recognized Wednesday for a variety of accomplishments over the school year.

The awards presented were the President's Award for Outstanding Academic Excellence, the President's Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement, the Senator David Argall Good Citizenship Award, as well as awards for perfect attendance, the envirothon and achieving a straight "a" average.

The President's Award for Outstanding Academic Excellence is an award for fourth graders only. The students who received it scored in the advanced levels on both the reading and math sections of the Pa. System of School Assessment (PSSA) third grade tests. The recipients were presented with a certificate signed by President Obama and a lapel pin.

The following students were honored: Mrs. Rupell's class - Samantha Banning, Samuel Maholick, Victor McCandless, CaraAnna Palumbo and Chris Whiteman; Mrs. Stahler's class - Elizabeth Eckhart, Emma McClafferty, Tyler Motzkus, Joshua Pickerin and Shawn Truhe.

The President's award for Outstanding Academic Achievement is also an award only for fourth graders. The students who received the awarded were recognized for their outstanding educational growth, improvement, commitment or intellectual development in their academic subjects. The recipients were also presented with a certificate signed by President Obama. The following students were honored: Mrs. Rupell's class - Robert Bush, Sarah Giordano, Hannah Johnson and Amya Quinones; Mrs. Stahler's class - Alex Hawk, Keegan Quinn and Natalie Smith.

The Senator David Argall award for Good Citizenship is presented to two students from each fourth grade class in the district. The students who receive this award have displayed qualities of good citizenship through character, leadership, scholarship and acceptance of responsibility. They were selected by their teachers. Samantha Banning and Chris Whiteman were selected from Mrs. Rupell's class and Charles Daniels and Elizabeth Eckhart were selected from Mrs. Stahler's class.

All students who had a perfect attendance record with no more than 3 tardies received the perfect attendance award. Honored were: Owen Kovach and Layla Kunkle, from Mrs. Geiser's kindergarten class; Madison Light and Austin Schweibinz, from Mrs. Blisard's third grade class; Nathan Nansteel, from Mrs. Rupell's fourth grade class; and Alex Hawk from Mrs. Stahler's fourth grade class.

Third grade students were recognized for their work on the envirothon, a competition against other school districts where students answer questions pertaining to the environment. Participants from Mrs. Blisard's class are Hannah Christman, Jessica Haley, Kylie Kresge, Alison Miller and Emma Schappell; and participants from Mr. Kresge's class are John DeMatte, Abigail Hoppes, Calvin Maholick, Aidan Malloy and Seth Wisser.

Four students were awarded for completing fourth grade with an "A" average in every subject. They are Samantha Banning, Victor McCandless and CaraAnna Palumbo from Mrs. Rupell's class and Emma McCafferty from Mrs. Stahler's class.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries