Skip to main content

Successful write-in votes create General Election races

Published June 01. 2011 05:18PM

Twelve persons were successful in winning Republican nominations for various offices in Carbon County, having received sufficient write-in votes to win ballot positions in the November General Election. Meanwhile, four persons won Democratic nominations via the same process.

Write-in votes are options voters of the two major parties utilize in races where there are no candidates on the ballot.

In one of the cases, a race for the office of county controller resulted due to a successful write-in campaign.

Howard R. Boehringer, 145 Tatra Drive, Lehighton, which is part of the Long Run district of Franklin Township, will face incumbent Democratic Controller Robert M. Crampsie in November. A Republican, Boehringer received 158 write-in votes, 58 more than the required 100 votes needed to get on the ballot. Crampsie was unopposed in the May 17 Primary Election.

Meanwhile, in municipal balloting, write-in votes were as follows:

LASD race

Harold Resh of 748 Pinewood Road, Lehighton (East Penn Township) won both a Democratic and Republican nomination for a two-year term on the Lehighton Area School District Board of Education. He received 12 Republican and 14 Democratic write-in votes.

Having won both nominations, Resh is virtually assured to win the seat. He will join five others who ran for four-year terms and were successful in winning nominations of both parties. They are Wayne Wentz, Rocky Ahner, Andrew Yenser, Larry Stern and Thomas Zimmerman IV.

PVSD race

Michael Celentano of Summit Hill was successful in winning a GOP nomination for a four-year term on the Panther Valley School District Board of Education. He received 30 write-in votes among Summit Hill, Lansford and Nesquehoning voters.

His nomination means there will be a race in November for five four-year terms that are up for grabs.

On the Democratic side, there were five candidates, all of whom ran unopposed. They are Anthony DeMarco, William J. Hunsicker Sr., Michelle Markovich, Jeffrey Markovich and R. Mickey Angst.

Michelle Markovich did not cross-file petitions, meaning her name did not appear on the Republican ballot, opening the door for Celentano to win the fifth GOP nomination. Since four of the six nominees will appear on both ballots in November, the apparent race will be between Michelle Markovich and Celentano.

Banks Township

Theresa Schott, who won a three-person race for the Democratic nomination for a six-year term as Banks Township supervisor, also won the Republican nomination by collecting 22 write-in votes.

She defeated Nicholas Petrole and David Davidovich to win on the Democratic side.

Also in Banks, Joseph Bodnar Jr. was a successful write-in candidate for the position of auditor. He received 54 Democratic votes.

Jim Thorpe

In the Jim Thorpe Borough Council race, John McGuire was a successful write-in vote recipient on the Republican side, getting 15 votes. He will appear on both ballots since he won a Democratic nomination, as did Betsy Ahner and Joseph Krebs.

Louis Hall, a Republican, was the only name on the GOP ballot for the three four-year terms that are available, meaning four persons will be running for the three terms in November.


There was a shortage of candidates for Lansford Borough Council in the Primary, where four four-year terms were open and there appeared only three candidates, including Four four-year terms on borough council are up for grabs. There are only three candidates, including Democrats Rose Mary Cannon and Mary Kruczek, and Republican Andrew Snyder.

Three persons were successful in getting on the ballot via write-ins. Joining Cannon and Kruczek on the Democratic ballot will be George Bottomley, 16, and Robert Jr. Stackhouse and George Bottomley, who received 18 and 16 write-in votes, respectively. Joining Snyder on the GOP wide will be Tommy Vadyak, who collected 14 write-in votes, meaning four Democrats and two Republicans will square off in November for the four terms.

Mahoning Township

Bruce Steigerwalt virtually locked up a six-year seat as Mahoning Township supervisor. He defeated George Stawnyczyj on the Republican ballot and then received 22 write-in votes from the Democrats to win that nomination as well, since there were no candidates on that side.


Bob Marouchoc was a successful write-in vote recipient for four four-year terms available on the Nesquehoning Borough Council. He received the necessary 10 votes.

That means his name will appear on both ballots, since he won a Democratic nomination, along with Frank Jacobs, Mark Stromelo and Donato DeMarco.

That foursome will face two others who were unopposed on the GOP side. They are Rich Zabroski and Michael Frey.

Summit Hill

Two persons were successful in winning nominations on the Republican ballot for four four-year terms open on the Summit Hill Borough Council. They are John Michalik and Jesse Walck, who received 22 and 16 votes, respectively.

Walck also won a Democratic nomination, meaning his name will appear on both ballots. There were no GOP candidates who appeared on the ballot.

In addition to Walck, the successful Democratic candidates are Francis O'Gorman, Michael Kokinda II and Michael Alabovitz, meaning five persons will run for the four positions in the Fall.

Kidder Township

There are two six-year terms to be filled on the Kidder Township board of supervisors. In the Primary, there was only one candidate, that being Democrat Raymond Gluck.

As a result of write-in votes, two Republicans will challenge Gluck in November. They are Frank Pieri, who received 43 write-in votes, and Thomas Bradley, who collected 22 votes via the same method.

Beaver Meadows

Martha Steber was successful in getting sufficient write-in votes to win a Republican nomination for a four-year term in the Beaver Meadows Borough Council. Four positions are to be filled by the voters, for which there were four Democratic candidates and just one GOP candidate.

Steber will join James G. Leonard on the Republican ballot. They will be running against Democrats Anthony A. Rusnock, Richard W. Donald, Mark James Lazar and Alfred Mitcho.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed


Bombers get creative with parade floats

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Some of Palmerton’...

Man faces charges for shooting his dog

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Charges have been...

Extension hosts annual dinner

40.7986942, -75.8104747

The Carbon County Ex...

Reader Photo Galleries