Skip to main content

Students develop website for Franklin Township community

  • Gail Maholick/TIMES NEWS Two Lehighton High School juniors, Colton Davidson, center; and Levi Haldeman, right, were honored by the Franklin Township Board of Supervisors for building a website for the township. Paul Kocher, township supervisor, left…
    Gail Maholick/TIMES NEWS Two Lehighton High School juniors, Colton Davidson, center; and Levi Haldeman, right, were honored by the Franklin Township Board of Supervisors for building a website for the township. Paul Kocher, township supervisor, left, was a mentor during the process. The website at is up and running.
Published January 05. 2011 05:00PM

Two Lehighton Area High School students, earning their "senior project certification," were recognized with a "Valuable Volunteer" award during Monday's reorganization of Franklin Township board of supervisors.

Levi Haldeman and Colton Davidson, both juniors, each spent about 20 hours to develop a website that will allow Franklin Township residents to become better informed about happenings within the community.

The teens were mentored by township supervisor Paul Kocher throughout the website building efforts.

The website was up and running two weeks ago and is ready for residents to view at

"It's a work in progress," said Kocher. "The website will be able to tell residents about any changes in garbage collection, township news, Lions projects and there will also be links to other sites, such as the Lehighton School District and Lions."

"It's really nice," he added. "We're eventually going to have information on roads, state programs open to residents, plus a township newsletter. It will offer a lot of valuable information."

Kocher said that many residents are Internet savvy and that it was time to offer the information through the Internet.

He said eventually township staff will learn how to administer the site so that it can remain updated.

Following the presentation of the certificates, the board reorganized, offering few changes from last year.

Rod Green will remain chairman and Kocher will continue to serve as vice chairman. Sandra Gaumer will continue as township secretary/treasurer; and Brenda Neeb will stay as assistant secretary/treasurer.

Nanovic Law Offices will continue as township solicitor and attorney Jenn Cheng will remain zoning hearing board solicitor.

Matthew Neeb will stay as zoning officer and BOCA property maintenance code enforcement officer, and Carl Faust of Blue Mountain Inspection Service will continue as Uniform Code Officer and Assistant BOCA Property Maintenance Code Enforcement Officer.

Sean Corey of Spotts, Stevens and McCoy again will serve as sewage enforcement officer and continuing as alternate sewage enforcement officer will be Scott Bieber.

Spotts, Stevens and McCoy, Inc. will also continue as the township engineer for sewage and Ron Tirpak of Carbon Engineering will stay as the engineer for general purposes.

Charles Fritz was reappointed to serve on the Vacancy Board.

Rod Mann was also reappointed to the township planning commission for a five-year term and Kim DePue will continue as a three-year member of the zoning hearing board.

Paul Kocher was reappointed for a five-year term to the municipal authority and Art Berger was reappointed to the Carbon County Solid Waste Advisory Committee and to the Franklin Township Advisory Recreation and Parks Board.

Dennis Bauchspies was reappointed to the Lehigh Canal Recreation Commission.

Thomas Beltz will continue as police chief.

Robin Cressley was reappointed as township road master and road foreman.

Brenda Neeb and Sandra Gaumer will stay as local services tax collectors.

Rod Green was reappointed chief administrative official for nonuniformed pension plan and chief administrator official for the police pension plan.

Jim Thorpe National Bank and PLGIT were retained for township checking and savings accounts.

The township set the limit of bond of supervisors as trustees of the Franklin Township Police Pension Fund at $500,000.

Township meetings will be held at 7:30 p.m. the third Tuesday of each month except for January, when the meeting will be held Jan. 11, instead of Jan. 18.

The board reapproved a motion for prepayment of bills by the township secretary/treasurer.

The board also set an hourly pay rate for township supervisors to assist the road crew at $16.48 per hour.

The board also raised the travel allowance from 45 cents a mile to 51 cents a mile to meet IRS standards.

Supervisors also reappointed Buckno Lisicky and Company, PC-CPA to replace elected auditors to examine all township accounts for 2010.

The board also appointed Kenneth Cahill and Kevin Strunk as alternate zoning hearing board members for three years.

The board also approved the exoneration lists from Sara Keiser, tax collector for 2010.

The board also selected the 2011 Community Development Block Grant. The township plans to resurface portions of Cedar and Market streets, plus to supplement Court Street retaining wall project, phase two and if funds are available to do phase two of the dredging project at the Phifer Ice Dams Park.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries