Skip to main content

Judicial, county officials to be sworn in on Thursday

Published December 26. 2011 05:02PM

Seventeen judicial and county officers elected in last November's general election, will take their oath of office on Thursday, 10 a.m. in the Ceremonial Court Room Number One at the Schuylkill County Courthouse in Pottsville.

Court Administrator Lois Wallauer said this will be the largest group to be sworn. President Judge William E. Baldwin will administer the oath.

Judge Elect James P. Goodman is leaving his post as district attorney to fill the vacancy on the county bench left by the retirement of Judge D. Michael Stine to bring the court its full compliment of six judges. He was elected to a 10-year term. Two of the current judges, Cyrus Palmer Dolbin and Charles M. Miller, won retention to serve on the bench for another 10 years.

Those elected to county offices were:

Commissioner Frank Staudenmeier, who for the past four years has been the minority commissioner, won re-election and will again become the majority commissioner along with new Commissioner Elect George Halcovage. The new minority commissioner will be Commissioner Elect Gary J. Hess, who resigned as mayor of Schuylkill Haven Borough to assume his new duties. Staudenmeier will also return as chairman of the board when the commissioners hold their first meeting to organize.

He held this position four years ago. Two of the current commissioners, Mantura Gallagher and Francis McAndrews, did not seek re-election.

Treasurer Jackie McGovern, Recorder of Deeds A. Matthew Dudish and Clerk of Courts Stephen M. Lukach, Jr., were re-elected and continue to serve in their current posts.

Controller Elect Christy Joy, Prothonotary Elect David J. Dutcavage, Register of Wills Elect Theresa Santai-Gaffney and County Controller Elect David J. Moylan are newly elected officers.

There was one new magisterial district justice elected, attorney Christina E. Hale who will take over presiding over Magisterial District 21-2-01 which covers Frackville-Ashland area. She fills the vacancy left when District Justice Bernadette Nahas retired some time ago and a senior district magistrate had filled the post.

Three Magisterial District Justices won retention, James R. Ferrier, of District 21-3-03, which covers Orwigsburg and Schuylkill Haven area; James K. Reiley, of District 21-07 which covers Pottsville; and Stephen J. Bayer, of 21-3-06 which covers Tamaqua area.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries