Skip to main content

Board deals with personnel issues

Published August 17. 2011 05:01PM

The Tamaqua Area School Board took action on a number of items during Tuesday's public board meeting.

School board secretary Robert Betz was appointed as Tamaqua Area School District's representative to the Schuylkill County Area Vocational-Technical School Authority for 2011-2012.

The board approved the following as coaches, volunteer coaches, advisors, and volunteer assistants for the upcoming school year: Jennifer Miller, Andreas, Assistant Cheerleading Coach; Michael Sakash, Volunteer Cross Country Coach; Matt Stewart, New Ringgold, Volunteer Boys' Soccer Coach; Bobby Whitley, Nesquehoning, Volunteer Boys' Soccer Coach; Thomas Scheitrum, Nesquehoning, Assistant Girls' Basketball Coach; David DiFiore, Tamaqua, Volunteer Boys' Soccer Coach.

The following individuals were approved as substitute teachers: Tammy Chrin, Havertown; Debi Dodson, Coaldale; Kailee Fowler, Mahanoy City; William James, Courtney McCarroll, and Suzanne Yushock, all of Tamaqua; Laura Knapp, Barnesville; Amy Lahr, Schuylkill Haven; Michael Stoppie, Pottsville, and Benjamin Tkach, Lehighton.

The following individuals were hired as substitute Guest Teachers: Laura Makuta, Conyngham; Jennifer Connor, Girardville; Kayla Felty, Schuylkill Haven; Frank Berleth, Tamaqua, and Timothy Oliva, Barnesville. Makuta was also hired as a part-time paraprofessional.

The board accepted the resignation of Megan Hales, Middle School Family and Consumer Science Teacher; Lauren Harvilla, Elementary Special Education teacher; Sonia Pucklavage, part-time paraprofessional, and Charlene Cassel, part-time paraprofessional, effective at the end of the 2010-2011 school year. The following individuals were hired as part•time paraprofessionals and substitute paraprofessionals for the 2011-2012 school year: Laura Makuta, Conyngham, part-time paraprofessional; Stephanie Balliet, Lehighton, substitute paraprofessional; Charlene Cassel, substitute paraprofessional; Madeline (Amy) Behler, Tamaqua, substitute paraprofessional; Ann Pergosky, New Tripoli, substitute paraprofessional.

Melanie Moyer, Tamaqua, was hired as a Speech Therapist as per the Transfer of Entities Act with Schuylkill Intermediate Unit #29 at an annual salary of $74,502. Caitlin Miller, Tamaqua, was hired as a Speech Therapist at the annual salary of $40,574.

Financial Matters

The board also approved and accepted a $27,000 grant from the John E. Morgan Foundation to be used in a program to assist students to become better prepared for higher education. This award will assist students in their preparation for the yearly PSSA tests.

Schulze, Speicher, LLP, of Pottsville was approved as the district's auditor for the new school year.

The board also authorized the second payment from the district's Construction Fund to McClure Company in the amount of $1,938,639.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries