Skip to main content

Jonathan Maberry to speak at PLRW meeting

Published August 01. 2011 05:02PM

Pocono-Lehigh Romance Writers (PLRW) will meet at 10 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 13 at the Palmer Township branch of the Easton Area Public Library, 1 Weller Place, Palmer Township.

New York Times best-seller and multiple Bram Stoker Award-winning author Jonathan Maberry of Doylestown will present "Romance With the Unknown: The Supernatural in Fiction" from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

The meeting and workshop are open to the public. There is a workshop fee for non-PLRW members.

"The new wave of paranormal romances and thrillers are coming out of left field," Maberry says. "They're built around unique takes on classic monster tropes, but the authors are mining world myth and folklore for the kinds of supernatural creatures our ancestors believed in, rather than the trite Hollywood versions."

Maberry is the author of six books on supernatural folklore and 11 novels, including the international bestselling adaptation of "The Wolfman."

For more about Jonathan Maberry, visit www.jonathanmaberry.com.

Also open to the public will be a book signing from 1-2 p.m. at the library. Joining Maberry will be: Christine Bush of Center Valley (www.christinebush.com), Kathleen Coddington of East Allen Township (www.kathleencoddington.com), Tina Gallagher of Scranton (www.tina-gallagher.com), Rosemary Goodwin of Nazareth (www.rosemary-goodwin.com), Autumn Jordon of Lehighton (www.autumnjordon.com), and Kathy Kulig of Easton (www.kathykulig.com).

The authors are donating 10 percent of their proceeds to the Palmer Library.

About PLRW: A chapter of Romance Writers of America, PLRW is dedicated to promoting excellence in fiction writing by providing continuous support to its members, who are writers from the Lehigh Valley and Pocono Mountain areas of Pennsylvania, and western New Jersey.

For more information, visit www.plrw.org.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar

<<

October 2017

>>
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
    

Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed

Nearby

Bombers get creative with parade floats

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Some of Palmerton’...

Man faces charges for shooting his dog

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Charges have been...

Extension hosts annual dinner

40.7986942, -75.8104747

The Carbon County Ex...

Reader Photo Galleries