Skip to main content

Summit Hill News

Published March 15. 2010 05:00PM

Summit Hill

Lions to meet

The Summit Hill Lions Club will meet on Tuesday, March 23, at the St. Gabriel's Italian Club, Summit Hill. Dr. Kenneth Vermillion, president, will be in charge of the business session.

Summit Hill Police Chief Joseph Fittos Jr. will be the guest speaker.

Agenda items to be discussed include club members' participation in the upcoming telethon for the Carbon-Tamaqua Unit of the American Cancer Society (April), the recycling of cell phones; and a trip to a Lehigh Valley Iron Pigs game.

To date, the club has a membership of 44 persons.

Lenten service

The weekly community interdenominational Lenten service will be held on Wednesday, March 17, at St. John Slovak Lutheran Church, Lansford. Persons of all faiths are welcome to participate.

The evening will begin with a light supper at 6 o'clock, followed by the service at 7 o'clock. The Rev. Marjorie Keiter will speak on "Baptism."

St. Paul Lutheran

Volunteers are needed to help with a clean-up project at St. Paul Lutheran Church, Summit Hill. The session will begin at 9 a.m.

Democrats to meet

The Jeffersonian Democratic Club, Summit Hill, will meet on Thursday, March 18, at 7 p.m. in the Summit Hill Borough Hall. Robin McArdle, president, will be in charge of the session.

All party members and committee persons are asked to attend. The upcoming Primary election will be discussed. Voter registration forms will be available.

Council committees

The Summit Hill Borough Council operates on a committee basis, with members of the council serving in various capacities. Borough residents needing assistance in borough matters can contact any of the council members serving on the respective committees that have been appointed by Joseph Weber, council president:

Streets and lights - John O'Gurek, Mike Alabovitz and Ken Boyd.

Police - Boyd, Harry Miller and William Chapman.

Recreation - Michael Kokinda, Chapman and Alabovitz.

Borough hall and personnel - Alabovitz, Kokinda and O'Gurek

Emergency services - Chapman, Boyd and Miller.

Sanitation - Miller, O'Gurek and Kokinda.

Ordinance - Miller, Kokinda and Chapman.

Handicap advisory board - Miller and Chapman.

Finance - all members of the council.

As president, Weber is a member of each of the committees.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


November 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries