Skip to main content

JT Hall of Fame announces 2010 class

Published June 19. 2010 09:00AM

The Jim Thorpe Area Sports Hall of Fame has announced its incoming Class of 2010.

The inductees includes three Olympian alumnus and one varsity sports team.

Peter Wernett, a 1956 graduate, excelled on the baseball field and lettered on the school's first varsity football team. Wernett, who played offensive/defensive tackle, was selected as a member of the Panther Valley All-Star football team his senior year.

Wernett also pitched the school's first no-hitter on April 28, 1955 against White Haven in a 14-0 victory. He came close to second one 10 days earlier but had to settle for a one-hitter against Ringtown instead.

Brian Balliet, a 1995 graduate, earned four varsity letter as a member of the Olympians' basketball team. Balliet scored 1,286 career points, which places him third best on the Olympians' All-Time scoring list. He scored a school's best 55 points in a single game against Williams Valley his senior year, which edged the previous record of 47 held by Bill Bechtold in 1959.

Balliet was a two-time Most Valuable Player in 1994 and 1995. was WNEP 16 Sports Star of the Week, the Morning Call Player of the Week, Eyewatch Newss 13 Male Athlete of the Week several times and was voted TIMES NEWS "All First Team" in '94 and '95.

Chelsea Mullins, a 2001 graduate, lettered four years in cross country at Jim Thorpe Area High School as well as four years at Moravian College. Mullins crossed the finish line first in 40 of her 41 dual or tri-meets while attending Jim Thorpe.

Two years in a row, Mullins won the Lions Invitational at Moravian Academy. Mullins collected two District silver medals prior to becoming the first District 11 Cross Country champion in the program's history in 2001. She established course records at six different schools four of which are Salisbury, Shamokin, Freeland MMI and Mauch Chunk Lake Park. She was named Jim Thorpe's MVP in cross coutry all four years she competed in the sport.

The 1992 Jim Thorpe Area High School girls' softball team was the first and only girls' softball team to earn a championship in the program's history.

While competing in the Schuylkill League Division II North, the Olympians recorded a league record of 13-1. The Olympians' won the program's first-ever District 11 game with a 4-2 victory over Cardinal Brennan. However, their championship season ended with a 6-5 loss to Northwestern in a nine inning game that brought their final record to 15-4, which has not been challenged before or since the 1992 championship season.

Ray Heiser was the Olympians' head coach, while he was assisted by Lori Leinhard and Tom Skelly. Team members included Bobbi Jo Leinhard, Jen Skelly, Jen Karper, Mary Gillespie, Kristen Heiser, Vicky Schafer, Tammy Mullen, Deb Doll, Amy Zovak, Jolene Livengood, Leslie Serfass, Rhonda Lazorick, Melissa Marzen, Marcia King, Jolene Hasaman, Hope Ferguson, Jen Beers, Kerri Hartman, Jessy Schoch and Michelle Bianculli. Managers were Ian Heiser and Wendy Highland.

Tickets for the induction ceremonies can be obtained by calling Craig Zurn at 570-325-4244, Wil Redline at 570-325-3073 or Jack Kmetz at 570-325-4923.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries