Skip to main content

Awards presented to PV graduates

  • LIZ PINKEY/SPECIAL TO THE TIMES NEWS Valedictorian Kayla Nunemacher, left, high school principal Joseph Gunnels, and Salutatorian Nicollette Schietrum.
    LIZ PINKEY/SPECIAL TO THE TIMES NEWS Valedictorian Kayla Nunemacher, left, high school principal Joseph Gunnels, and Salutatorian Nicollette Schietrum.
Published June 09. 2010 05:00PM

The following awards were presented by Panther Valley High School principal Joseph Gunnels during the forty sixth commencement ceremony, held at the Panther Valley Stadium, on Tuesday evening.

Kayla Nunemacher: the Panther Valley Board of Education award for $1000, the John F. & Angelina Cerchiaro Memorial Scholarship Award for $200. Nunemacher has also received several scholarships to attend Syracuse University.

Nicollete Schietrum: the Panther Valley Board of education award for $500, the Phlomena G. Fauzio Memorial Scholaship for $200. Schietrum has also received several scholarships to attend Misericordia University.

Joel Maruschak: the Ernest Scheller III Memorial Scholarship, a total amount of $12,000, over four years. The award is based on academic merit, demonstrated leadership, documented civic and community service participation. A brief essay by the student was also reviewed. The award was presented by Scheller's father, Ernest Scheller.

Demi Ogozalek: the Liza Day Holmes Memorial Scholarship, in the amount of $4000, given to a female from Lansford, who has shown academic achievement.

Ryan Porambo: the Martin Mersky Memorial Award for $500, presented to a senior that possesses a minimum 3.0 GPA and has post graduation plans for college, junior college, vocational school, or the military. The person chosen for this year's award meets all of the criteria and also possesses the qualities and values esteemed upon by Mr. Mersky. The award was presented by Mrs. Mersky.

Aric Shubeck: the Board of Directors-Superintendent's Leadership Scholarship, in the amount of $1000, donated by KNBT Bank and the Panther Valley Insurance Trust Account. The award is presented to a senior who embodies the following: dedicated service to school, community, and country, proven leadership qualities, and effectiveness, academic scholarship and outstanding educational achievement, and demonstrated national pride and patriotism.

Kaitlyn Zulic: the Academic Scholarship award from the Board of Trustees of St. Luke's Miners Memorial Hospital, in the amount of $500.

The following students also received scholarships, grants, and awards to attend various universities: Lainey Hochberg, Christa Mantz, Carly Markovich, Danielle Natividad, Jennifer O'Brien, Katarina Rohlfing, Logan Stano, and Andrew Tucker.

Gunnels announced that the Class of 2010 has received over $330,000 in grants and awards.

Members of Panther Valley High School's Class of 2010: William Ahner, Miranda Altemose, Travis Bailey, Rosemarie Bauer, Kahley Caputo, Justin Christman, Branden Clymer, Candace Conville, Sean Coppie, Jeffrey Corby, Angelo Dalessio, Alexzandir DeBaun, Jillian Degiglio, Thomas Devitt, Alysha Drum, Jake Dunn, Trevor Evans, Joshua Faenza, Kyle Ferrari, Alec Focht, Matthew Galgoci, Wesley German, Wajiha Gillani, Jason Harrison, Lainey Hochberg, Tricia Janowiak, Jose Karnish, Kevin Kaufman, Emily Kehl, Christin Kehler, Travis Keiper, David Kerr, Joseph Knepper, Jacob Kokinda, Nicholas Kokinda, Noah Krynock, Thomas Kuba, Francis Latham, Casey Lawrence, Kayla Leibensperger, Damian Lewis, Katelyn Loudon, Michael Luckenbill, Angelina Mannino, Christa Mantz, Abigail Markovich, Carly Markovich, Joel Maruschak, Wade Matika, Kyle McAvoy, Michael McCarroll, Dana McFadden, Matthew Melnick, Jacob Mertz, Keith Miller, Maria Motika, Patrick Motika, Brandon Nash, Danielle Natividad, Kayla Nunemacher, Jennifer O'Brien, Michael O'Donnell, Jeremy O'Gorman, Demi Ogozalek, Laura Olson, Michael Oyler, Justin Paton, Karissa Pavlick, Gregory Pecha, Todd Phillips, Kyle Picht, Ryan Poeldnurk, Ryan Porambo, Tanner Quinn, Robert Redmond, Emily Rehrig, Ryan Richards, Katarina Rohlfing, Thomas Romanchik, Kevin Schaller, Nicollette Scheitrum, Aric Shubeck, Matthew Shutter, Hope Skaggs, Cody Smith, Kyle Smith, Shawn Smith, Logan Stano, Joseph Starosta, Stephanie Stoffa, Johnathan Susko, Jordan Tessitore, Kyle Trinkle, Cody Trudich, Andrew Tucker, Alegra Vega, Elizar Vega, Erica Wehr, and Katelyn Zulic.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed


Faith Alive UMC hosts ‘Revival on Purpose!’

40.804927, -75.656958

Faith Alive UMC, 678...

Pumpkin social in Tamaqua

40.7986307, -75.9683447

Zion Lutheran Church...

Feed the People hosts Halloween celebration

40.830215, -75.88356

Feed the People is h...

STEP-Up Tamaqua to meet Monday

40.798347, -75.970851

STEP-Up Tamaqua will...

Reader Photo Galleries