Skip to main content

New director of elections appointed

  • AMY ZUBEK/TIMES NEWS Lisa R. Dart has been named the new director of elections for Carbon County. She will officially begin as director on June 7.
    AMY ZUBEK/TIMES NEWS Lisa R. Dart has been named the new director of elections for Carbon County. She will officially begin as director on June 7.
Published June 04. 2010 05:00PM

Carbon County officials have named the new director of elections.

During the county commissioners' meeting on Thursday, the board voted 2-1 to name Lisa R. Dart of Jim Thorpe as the new director. Commissioner Wayne Nothstein cast the sole "no" vote.

He explained that his reason for voting "no" was because he felt the county should have interviewed the 19 applicants applying for the position before making its decision.

Commissioner William O'Gurek, chairman, explained that the board felt it made the right choice.

"There's one person in my opinion, in all of Carbon County, who knows how to run elections and that is Ken Leffler (former elections director)," he said. "It was Ken's recommendation months ago that we move Lisa down there in the clerical capacity because Lisa had had some experience in the elections office.

"We made Ken the acting director through the primary election and after that, he recommended to us that we appoint Lisa to the position because, in his opinion, he felt that she was capable. I'm relying on Ken Leffler when he makes a recommendation for the elections office because I don't think anyone other than Ken knows what's best for that office, including the three commissioners."

Dart is replacing former elections director, Jacqueline S. Berger, who resigned in March, after three weeks in the position. She will officially take over the director position on June 7. The county salary board has not yet announced her salary.

Dart, who has been employed by Carbon County since Feb 20, 2007, served as a secretary III in the commissioners' office until earlier this year, when she was moved to a temporary secretary III position in the elections office.

During the last three years, she also assisted the elections office in six elections.

Of her promotion, Dart said, "I want to thank them for having confidence in me. I want to do the best I can."

She added that she and Jane Krebs, department clerk, who served under the last three elections directors, plan to continue business as usual.

"We're going to move forward," Dart said, adding that Leffler, who worked for the county for 30 years before retiring in 2009, will be their consultant. "I think because Ken will still be here to help, there won't be any transition issues."

Krebs added that she is happy a new director has been named.

In other matters, the commissioners voted to approve six change orders for the renovations at the courthouse. Nothstein voted "no" on three of those change orders because he felt two should have been included in the original specs, while a third order shouldn't be the county's responsibility due to the fact that it was bad planning on the contractor's part.

The $1.3 million in courthouse renovations have been under way since last August, when the county started working on creating a third courtroom and judge's chambers.

After many delays in the renovations, as well as dozens of change orders, Judge Steven Serfass, the county's third judge, was able to move into his new quarters in late April.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries