Pa. Photo ID cards now available for children 10 years and older
Photo identification (ID) cards are now available to Pennsylvania residents ages 10 and older. The previous minimum age requirement to obtain a photo ID card was 16. Act 159 of 2006 lowered the minimum age requirement for a Pennsylvania photo ID card to age 10. The law took effect Nov. 29, 2009. All other requirements for obtaining a Pennsylvania photo ID card remain the same.
To obtain a photo ID card, an individual must complete Form DL-54A http://www.dmv.state.pa.us/pdotforms/dl_forms/dl-54a.pdf.
Application for Initial Photo Identification Card." An individual must bring the completed form, along with the required identity documents and a fee of $12 to a PennDOT Driver License Center to obtain the photo ID card. Required identity documents are listed on Form DL-54A. PennDOT reminds individuals under the age of 18 applying for a photo ID card that a parent, guardian or person in loco parentis must accompany them to a PennDOT Driver License Center.